Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Summit Modified Nationals

Adkins Dominates Brushcreek Motorsports Park for First DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Win

Summit Modified NationalsPEEBLES, Ohio — July 17, 2013 — Pole-sitter Doug Adkins stormed out to an early lead and never looked back as he led flag-to-flag to claim his first win on the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour at Brushcreek Motorsports Park.

Although it was a non-points race, a full field of modifieds roared into the 3/8-mile oval. Adkins, of West Portsmouth, Ohio, started from the inside of row one and never relinquished the lead over the 20-lap A-Main.

Adkins was challenged though, as Jess Hartman charged from fourth to second. Adkins moved from the bottom to the middle to try and hold off Hartman, who was glued to the top of the racetrack. Hartman would take several shots to the inside of Adkins, but Adkins would carry the momentum off of the high side of the track and beat Hartman out of the corner.

Finally, just after reaching the halfway mark of the race, Hartman looked like he had the pass completed but slower traffic broke his momentum and let Adkins slip away. Adkins maneuvered through the slower traffic with ease as he built up a large lead over the final 10 laps to claim the $750 checkered flag.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Jeremy Rayburn, Taylor Cook and Dave Jamison rounded out the top five.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues in its final week of action Friday night at Attica Raceway Park located in Attica, Ohio.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin (Non-points)
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL Brent Mullins
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Mike Harrison (2)
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Ryan Thomas
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Cancelled (RAIN)
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Mike Harrison (3)
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Jeff Curl
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL Ryan Thomas (2)
Monday July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Mike Harrison (4)
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH Doug Adkins (Non-points)
Thursday July 18 Off
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.

You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...