Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Babb Claims Brownstown Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsBROWNSTOWN, Ind. – July 12, 2011 – Shannon Babb is becoming quite the familiar face in Victory Lane starting the final week of DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour competition after winning Tuesday night at Brownstown Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb started second and ran third behind early leader Jeep Van Wormer before contact between Van Wormer and Dream 100 winner Don O’Neal sent O’Neal pit side and left Van Wormer with an ill handling car.  Babb would capitalize with 10 laps remaining, leading the remaining distance to earn the win worth $5,000.  Babb’s win is his fifth of the tour, winning all three events held in the Hoosier state in 2011.   Former DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., would finish second after being involved in a lap one caution, which the winner Babb was also caught in.  Dunville, Ky., driver Dustin Neat finished third ahead of fellow Kentuckian Dillan White of Crofton.  Jack Sullivan rounded out the top five climbing from his 11th place starting spot.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Babb, who is seeking his third ‘Hell Tour’ championship, extends his point lead heading into the final four events of the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals to 206 points over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and 286 points over Erb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Wednesday, July 13 at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Brownstown Speedway; Brownstown, Ind.; July 12, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Dustin Neat, 4. Dillan White, 5. Jack Sullivan, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Jeep Van Wormer, 8. Matt Miller, 9. Bobby Pierce, 10. Scott James, 11. Justin Rattliff, 12. Donny Walden, 13. Mike Spatola, 14. Chad Stapleton, 15. Chris Streeval, 16. Tanner English, 17. Craig Vosbergen, 18. Don O’Neal 19. Steve Casebolt, 20. Joe Janowski, 21. Brandon Sheppard, 22. Mike Jewell. Fast qualifiers (among 40 cars): Sheppard, Babb, Erb, Van Wormer,. Heat race winners: Neat, Babb, O’Neal, Van Wormer. C-main winner: Jeremy Hines. B-main winner: Unzicker. Dash winner: Stapleton. Provisional starters: Sheppard, Vosbergen, English, Stapleton.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Wendell Wallace (44)
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Shannon Babb (35)
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. Shannon Babb(40)
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.

You May Also Like


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...

Late Models

Week 4 of the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals sends the Hell Tour to some of Illinois most exciting tracks – including a marquee...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

From national and regional touring series events, to the marquee Wayne Coakley Memorial and USA World 50 races, Jason Feger had won nearly every...