Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Babb Cruises to I-96 Speedway Summer Nationals Victory


Lake Odessa, Mich. – June 24, 2012 – Defending Summer Nationals champion Shannon Babb raced to his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory Sunday night at I-96 Speedway, outrunning fellow championship contender Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., to pocket the $5,000 payday.

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb got the jump on the initial start over polesitter Jason McBride of Carbondale, Ill., and dominated, holding off Shirley after two cautions slowed the 40-lap main event.  With the win, Babb will close the gap on Shirley in the DIRTcar Summer Nationals point standings.  Shirley continued his strong record with a runner-up finish.  2010 Hell Tour champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., wound up third.  Feger’s fellow fourth-row starter Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill, finished fourth. McBride rounded out the top five.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

The tour returns to action Tuesday night at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind., where Shannon Babb won his second Hell Tour race in 2011.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; I-96 Speedway; Lake Odessa, Mich.; June 24, 2012 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Jason Feger, 4. Dennis Erb Jr., 5. Jason McBride, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Brandon Sheppard, 8. Curtis Roberts, 9. Jon Henry, 10. Brian Ruhlman, 11. Dona Marcoullier, 12. Rich Neiser, 13. Zack Olger, 14. Mike Spatola, 15. Jerry Lierly, 16. Nick Bartels, 17. Frank Heckenast Jr., 18. Scott Baker, 19. Adam Thrush, 20. Brandon Thirlby, 21. Curt Spalding, 22. Bobby Pierce. Fast qualifiers (among 36 cars): Pierce, Henry, Babb, Sheppard. Heat race winners: Shirley, Henry, Babb, McBride. B-main winner: Lierly. Provisional starters: Heckenast, Bartels, Thirlby, Olger.

2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
13-Jun Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Billy Moyer Jr. (49)
14-Jun Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Shannon Babb(45)
15-Jun Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, WI Billy Moyer Jr. (37)
16-Jun Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, WI Billy Moyer Jr. (32)
17-Jun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Ryan Unzicker (31)
19-Jun Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Jon Henry (38)
20-Jun Highland Speedway Highland, IL Rodney Melvin (42)
21-Jun Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Brian Shirley (41)
22-Jun Tri City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Billy Moyer (43)
23-Jun Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Brian Shirley (41)
24-Jun I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb (36)
26-Jun Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, IN
27-Jun Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
28-Jun Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
29-Jun Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, KY
30-Jun Federated Auto Parts I-55 Pevely, MO
1-Jul Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
2-Jul Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
3-Jul Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
4-Jul Lasalle Speedway Lasalle, IL
5-Jul Macon Speedway Macon, IL
6-Jul Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
7-Jul Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
8-Jul Tri State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
10-Jul Florence Speedway Union, KY
11-Jul Brushcreek Motorsports Pebbles, OH
12-Jul Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
13-Jul Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
14-Jul Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum.

You May Also Like


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...

Late Models

Week 4 of the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals sends the Hell Tour to some of Illinois most exciting tracks – including a marquee...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

From national and regional touring series events, to the marquee Wayne Coakley Memorial and USA World 50 races, Jason Feger had won nearly every...