Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Babb Dominates LaSalle Speedway Summer Nationals for Third Straight Win

LASALLE, Ill. – July 13, 2011 – Shannon Babb dominated the field Wednesday night at LaSalle Speedway much like he has the rest of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb started the race on the pole, but Frank Heckenast Jr., of Frankfort, Ill., jumped to the early lead using the high groove.  Babb meticulously rolled around the bottom, moving into the lead on lap 16 as the track’s surface slicked off.  Babb went on to build leads as large as a half-straightaway over second place en route to his sixth victory on the 2011 ‘Hell Tour’ worth $5,000.  Former DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill.,  slipped past Heckenast after the midpoint, while Waterville, Ohio native Matt Miller got by on the final circuit to finish third and relegate Heckenast to a fourth place finish.  Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., finished fifth, his second consecutive top-five.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Babb, who is seeking his third ‘Hell Tour’ championship, extends his point lead heading into the final three events of the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals to 245 points over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and 318 points over Erb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Thursday, July 14 at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; LaSalle Speedway; LaSalle, Ill.; July 13, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Kevin Weaver, 3. Matt Miller, 4. Frank Heckenast Jr., 5. Jack Sullivan, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Bret Sievert, 8. Donny Walden, 9. Ryan Dauber, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Mike Spatola, 12. Mike Provenzano, 13. Dillan White, 14. Rich Bell, 15. Jeep Van Wormer, 16. Scott James, 17. Brandon Sheppard, 18. Nathan Balensiefen, 19. Scott Schmitt, 20. Mike Glynn, 21. Pete Parker, 22. Dan Schlieper, 23. Keith Piano.Fast qualifiers (among 29 cars): Weaver, Unzicker, Walden. Heat race winners: Weaver, Babb, Heckenast. Consolation winner: Bell. Provisional starters: James, Schmitt, Piano, Spatola, Balensiefen.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22

Highland Speedway

Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Wendell Wallace (44)
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Shannon Babb (35)
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. Shannon Babb (40)
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Shannon Babb(29)
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.

You May Also Like


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...


Charleston Speedway wins track of the year, Brad Denney wins Promoter of the year, Bob Memmer Award The final order of business for the...


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...


Driving Hoffman-built chassis, Nicely wins $5K and first event title Tyler Nicely emerged from his Elite Chassis #25 in Spoon River Speedway Victory Lane...