Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Babb Scores Second Win of 2014 DIRTCar Summer Nationals Season at Clarksville Speedway

Shannon Babb - Jim Denhamer photo
Shannon Babb - Jim Denhamer photo

Shannon Babb – Jim Denhamer photo

By Jordan Morris

 CLARKSVILLE, Tenn.  June 25, 2014 — Shannon Babb, starting from the outside of row one, powered around pole-sitter Ryan Unzicker on the opening lap and never looked back en route to grabbing his second victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals season on Wednesday night at Clarksville Speedway.

Unzicker, who lead the series points heading into the night, managed to finish second but never had a chance to lead a lap, as Babb would pull away from the field by half of a straightaway. The race was slowed by two cautions, one at lap 21 and the other at lap 25, but Unzicker could not get back around Babb. Babb lead all 40 laps in dominating fashion, scoring a well-earned $5,000 payday and defeating Unzicker by two seconds.

The victory on Wednesday night gave Babb his 85th career victory, returning his name to the top of the series all-time wins list, topping Billy Moyer in the season-long battle for the top spot.

“I’ve always enjoyed racing at this track,” said Babb in victory lane. “It’s been tough on me at times, but I started in a good spot, front-row outside was just perfect place to start and was able to get it done.”

Dennis Erb Jr., Tanner English, and Bobby Pierce  rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Erb Jr., Unzicker, and Babb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Thursday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tenn.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clarksville Speedway; Clarksville, Tenn.;June 25, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 28E-Dennis Erb  Jr, 4. 96-Tanner English, 5. 32-Bobby Pierce, 6. 81-Brian Shirley, 7. 96T-Terry English, 8. C8-Timothy Culp, 9. 18S-Jack Sullivan, 10. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 11. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 12. 6M-Wendell Wallace, 13. 16-Justin Rattliff, 14. 15-Richard Frost, 15. 20-Alan Westling, 16. 54JR-Larry Barber Jr, 17. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 18. 27M-Rodney Melvin, 19. 94-Austin Rettig, 20. 61-Caleb Ashby, 21. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 22. 74-John Minon.


2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. $5,000
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. $10,000
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. $10,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $5,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $5,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...