Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Billy Moyer Dominates at Highland

Billy Moyer
Billy Moyer

Billy Moyer

The series returns to action Sunday at Quincy Raceways

HIGHLAND, Ill. July 9, 2016 Billy Moyer dominated Saturday nights DIRTcar Summer Nationals feature at Highland Speedway as he scored his 93rd career series victory and third of the 2016 season.

Devin Gilpin started on the pole but Moyer very quickly took over the top spot and steadily built and insurmountable lead. Through 30-laps Moyer extended his lead at one point to nearly half a track length over Gilpin and current points leader and reigning series champion Bobby Pierce.

Four cautions waved throughout the feature but Moyer held tough. He scored victory with Gilpin in second and Pierce in third.

We changed a couple of things on the car today, Moyer said. We had to redeem ourselves as bad as weve been the last couple of days. It ran like it was supposed to tonight. It felt good.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Sunday night at Quincy Raceways.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites and

Super Late Models – A-Main
Pos Car # Driver
1 21 Billy Moyer
2 1G Devin Gilpin
3 32 Bobby Pierce
4 78 Chad Zobrist
5 25 Jason Feger
6 33X Tim Manville
7 16 Rusty Griffaw
8 11H Jeff Herzog
9 C8 Timothy Culp
10 11D Brian Diveley
11 11 Gordy Gundaker
12 24 Ryan Unzicker
13 4G Bob Gardner
14 22 Daniel Jacober
15 10 Daryn Klein
16 51C Dean Carpenter
17 1S Rick Salter
18 10X Jim Black
19 52 Matt Bailey
20 7W Matt Weidner
21 6K Michael Kloos
22 4S Jason Suhre

Super Late Models – C-Main
Pos Car # Driver
1 11 Gordy Gundaker
2 11D Brian Diveley
3 4G Bob Gardner
4 C8 Timothy Culp
5 11K Shannon Kuhn
6 25FM Frankie Martin
7 T4 Adam Tischhauser
8 51C Dean Carpenter
9 34 Chase Porter
10 26M Brent McKinnon
11 87 Jason Zobrist
12 10X Jim Black
13 5 Dave Jacober
14 9T Travis Horner
15 22 Daniel Jacober

Super Late Models – Heat Race 1
Pos Car # Driver
1 21 Billy Moyer
2 10 Daryn Klein
3 11H Jeff Herzog
4 7W Matt Weidner
5 52 Matt Bailey
6 11 Gordy Gundaker
7 11D Brian Diveley
8 10X Jim Black
9 34 Chase Porter
10 9T Travis Horner

Super Late Models – Heat Race 2
Pos Car # Driver
1 1G Devin Gilpin
2 78 Chad Zobrist
3 16 Rusty Griffaw
4 4S Jason Suhre
5 1S Rick Salter
6 4G Bob Gardner
7 22 Daniel Jacober
8 51C Dean Carpenter
9 26M Brent McKinnon
10 5 Dave Jacober

Super Late Models – Heat Race 3
Pos Car # Driver
1 25 Jason Feger
2 32 Bobby Pierce
3 6K Michael Kloos
4 33X Tim Manville
5 24 Ryan Unzicker
6 C8 Timothy Culp
7 11K Shannon Kuhn
8 T4 Adam Tischhauser
9 25FM Frankie Martin
10 87 Jason Zobrist

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule



Track Winners

Northern Kickoff

June 15


Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday

Kankakee Co. Speedway

Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday

Cedar Lake Speedway

Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday

Cedar Lake Speedway

Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday


June 21 Tuesday

Jacksonville Speedway

Bobby Pierce (3)

June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway

Dennis Erb Jr.

June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway

Bobby Pierce (4)

June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Bobby Pierce (9)
July 8 Friday Farmer City Raceway Jason Feger (2)
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway Billy Moyer (3)
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

You May Also Like

358 Modifieds

Another season of racing in the Northeast is complete, and drivers who battled weekly and on Series throughout 2023 were honored at the year-end...


Troutman finishes second from 21st, Hoffman ties David Reutimann for most event wins He hadn’t driven a DIRTcar UMP Modified in almost 14 months,...


Due to substantial rainfall throughout the week continuing into Friday morning, officials have postponed the Friday portion of the 10th annual Emil & Dale...

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...