Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP Modifieds

Bowyer powers to third DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH victory, takes aim at Monday’s ‘The Gator Championship’

Clint Bowyer

Clint Bowyer

BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 13, 2011 – Clint Bowyer continued dominating the 40th DIRTcar Nationals by University of Northwestern Ohio on Sunday night at Volusia Speedway Park by powering past Kenny Wallace early and hanging on to win the final qualifying feature for Monday’s DIRTcar UMP Modified The Gator Championship.

Richard Childress Racing’s Ty Dillon surged to second with Jared Landers, the two-time and defending winner of The Gator Championship, in third.

The victory was Bowyer’s third in a row at Volusia Speedway Park.

“The track was perfect tonight,” said Bowyer, who will attempt to become the first driver in history to win both The Gator Championship and Daytona 500 in the span of week. “It was fun to slip and slide around out there!”

Bowyer battled Wallace throughout the first five laps before stretching his lead to a full straightaway as Dillon and Landers waged a fierce battle for second behind him.

“Jared has really helped us out a lot,” explained Bowyer, one of 12 drivers to compete in last year’s NASCAR Chase to the Cup. “This is his race car, I’m just happy and excited to be here racing in front of everyone.”

Bowyer was strong as usual throughout the entire program. He was quickest of his qualifying group, he won the third heat race, and finally he claimed the checkered flag in the A-Main.

Over the final two nights of DIRTcar UMP Modified competition that winds up Tuesday at Volusia, Bowyer will have a chance to equal Landers’ record of winning not only the ‘The Gator Championship’ but also five DIRTcar UMP Modified programs at the DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH.


DIRTcar Nationals by University of Northwestern Ohio; DIRTcar UMP Modifieds; Volusia Speedway Park; Feb. 13, 2011

A-Main (20-Laps) – 1.Clint Bowyer, 2. Ty Dillon, 3. Jared Landers, 4. Kenny Wallace, 5. Peyton Taylor, 6. Ken Schrader, 7. Jason MIller, 8. Stormy Scott, 9. Gary Cook Jr, 10. Chris Puskas, 11. Jeff Matthews, 12. Terry Hull, 13. Evan Taylor, 14. Kelby Simmons, 15. Jim Shereck, 16. Todd Sherman, 17. Andy Strait, 18. Lawrence Oconnor, 19. Kevin Davis, 20. Keith Smith, 21. Jeremy Kerzman, 22. Kody Weisner, 23. Jason Beaulieu, 24. Riley Emmel

Qualifying Group 1 – 1. Ken Schrader, 2. Ty Dillon, 3. Kenny Wallace, 4. Gary Cook Jr, 5. Jim Shereck, 6. Larry Burkins, 7. Jason Davis, 8. Keith Smith, 9. Kris Richards

Qualifying Group 2 – 1. Jared Landers, 2. Jamie Carter, 3. Jeff Matthews, 4. Chris Puskas, 5. Stormy Scott, 6. Riley Emmel, 7. Jeremy Kerzman, 8. Jamie Smith, 9. Gary Brooks

Qualifying Group 3 – 1. Clint Bowyer, 2. Andy Strait, 3. Jason Beaulieu, 4. Jason MIller, 5. Kody Weisner, 6. Dale Murray, 7. Lawrence Oconnor, 8. Jim Shipman

Qualifying Group 4 – 1. Peyton Taylor, 2. Evan Taylor, 3. Todd Sherman, 4. Kelby Simmons, 5. Kevin Davis, 6. Terry Hull, 7. Tony Anderson, 8. Jim Thorp

Heat 1 – 1. Kenny Wallace, 2. Ty Dillon, 3. Ken Schrader, 4. Gary Cook Jr, 5. Jim Shereck, 6. Larry Burkins, 7. Keith Smith, 8. Jason Davis, DNS. Kris Richards

Heat 2 – 1. Jared Landers, 2. Jeff Matthews, 3. Chris Puskas, 4. Stormy Scott, 5. Jeremy Kerzman, 6. Riley Emmel, 7. Gary Brooks, 8. Jamie Carter, 9. James Smith

Heat 3 – 1. Clint Bowyer, 2. Jason MIller, 3. Andy Strait, 4. Kody Weisner, 5. Jason Beaulieu, 6. Dale Murray, 7. Jim Shipman, DQ. Lawrence Oconnor

Heat 4 – 1. Peyton Taylor, 2. Kelby Simmons, 3. Terry Hull, 4. Todd Sherman, 5. Evan Taylor, 6. Kevin Davis, 7. Tony Anderson, 8. Jim Thorp

B-Main 1 – 1. Jim Shereck, 2. Riley Emmel, 3. Jeremy Kerzman, 4. Keith Smith, 5. Jason Davis, 6. Gary Brooks, 7. Larry Burkins, 8. Kris Richards, DNS. Jamie Carter, DNS. Jamie Smith,

B-Main 2 – 1. Evan Taylor, 2. Kevin Davis, 3. Jason Beaulieu, 4. Lawrence Oconnor, 5. Tony Anderson, 6. Jim Shipman, 7. Dale Murray, DNS. Jim Thorp

You May Also Like


Late Models, UMP Modifieds, Pro Late Models, Pro Modifieds, Stock Cars set for action on premier Illinois bullring Five divisions. Three nights. DIRTcar Midwest’s...


LINCOLN, IL – The DIRTcar Fall Nationals returns to Lincoln Speedway in Lincoln, IL, in two weeks’ time – Thursday-Saturday, Sept. 28-30 – where national and...


Nate Young had been waiting for years for his chance to compete for a win with a touring DIRTcar UMP Modified series. On Sunday...


There’s nothing like the first time in Victory Lane, and Dalton Lane won’t soon forget his first trip Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway. The...