Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Big-Block Modifieds

Clint Smith, Dale Planck Become New Alltel Winners, Need Fans To Vote In $12,000 Alltel All-Star Contest

Barberville, FL — With NASCAR superstar and Alltel Racing’s Ryan Newman in attendance, Dirt Late Model standout Clint Smith and Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar series competitor Dale Planck each earned the first victories of their careers in Florida on Friday night’s Round 10 of the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park .

Smith, of Senoia , Ga. , started 15th and weaved his way to the victory in the UMP DIRTcar Super Late Model Series feature, which included Newman and his Alltel Wireless machine. Planck, of Cortland , N.Y. , powered his Big Block Modified past five-time Mr. DIRT champion Alan Johnson and drove off to the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane .

Smith and Planck did their part, now it’s up to the fans to decide who will be the Alltel All-Star. To vote for your favorite Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner, which could be worth $12,000 to that driver, cast your vote at Since the opening night of the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, drivers from 12 different states have earned victories.

Smith, 42, is one of the top contenders for the 2008 World of Outlaws Late Model Series championship, and another $12,000 from Alltel Wireless would help his cause.

“Vote for me because I’m a likeable guy, I guess,” Smith said. “I appreciate everything Alltel has done, and Ryan Newman coming down to spend time with the fans and us drivers.”

Newman was all smiles as he presented Smith with his trophy in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane .

“He did a heckuva job,” said Newman, who presented Smith with his winning hardware in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane . “I just tried to stay out of his way. It’s a learning experience for me. It was fun for me and I hope the fans.

“Dirt track racing is a lot of fun, and I really enjoy racing the Late Model. Steve Francis got me started doing it, and I’m just trying to get better at it. I enjoy racing with these guys, they’re class acts.”

Planck’s victory was his first in 15 tries to the Sunshine State , and $12,000 would go a long way toward his efforts to win the 2008 Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series title.

“Vote for me because I’m a nice guy,” said Planck, 37. “I could use the money.”

The voting at is open until 11:59 on March 16, and with one more night of racing includes:

Sprint Cars — Wayne Johnson, Mustang, Okla.; Craig Dollansky, Elk River, Minn.; Jason Meyers, Clovis, Calif.; Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo.; and Donny Schatz, Fargo, N.D., a two-time winner during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals.

UMP DIRTcar Modifieds — Jesse Stovall, Branson, Mo.; Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo.; Dave Hess Jr., Waterford, Pa.; Tim Hancock, Mount Olive, Ill.; Dave Groves, Morgantown, W.Va.; and two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark.

Dirt Late Models — Two-time winner Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.; Josh Richards, Shinnston, W.Va.; and Clint Smith, Senoia, Ga.

Advance Auto Parts Big Block Modifieds — Billy Pauch, Frenchtown , N.J. ; Brett Hearn, Sussex , N.J.; Dale Planck, Cortland , N.Y.

The drivers have done everything they can do to win you over, now it’s up to you to decide who will win the title by voting online.

The 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals concludes Feb. 16. The two-week event featured the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series™, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series™, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series™, UMP DIRTcar Racing™ Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds, and the All Star Circuit of Champions. Each race night included two feature events that made a driver eligible to be an Alltel All-Star.

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

You May Also Like

Late Models

Bob Memmer had a love for Late Model racing and a specific vision for it. In 1984, he made it a reality. His vision...

Late Models

Part II of DIRTcar’s 40th season celebration story, detailing modern-era events, coming to May 19 1984. Ronald Reagan was running for U.S. presidential...

Factory Stocks

For DIRTcar Racing’s 40th anniversary season, drivers in every division will be getting a bigger slice of the cake at season’s end with the...

Late Models

DIRTcar Racing has reached an agreement with the Valvoline Iron Man Late Model Series to sanction all 24 events on its 2023 schedule. Participants...