Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

358 Modifieds

David Hebert shows the way in the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series race at Le RPM Speedway

Modified star Hebert battles Terrance for win at Quebec track

CORNWALL, ONTARIO – Friday, September 19, 2014 – Martin Bélanger, DIRTcar Correspondent – The 2014  track champion at Le RPM Speedway, David Hebert, strutted his stuff Friday night, picking up the win in round 7 of the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series feature race.

Carey Terrance took the early lead in the 75-lap DIRTcar Modified Series event as Gino Clair and Yan Bussiere battled for the second spot. David Hebert was on the move as he cracked the top 5 in lap 7 and quickly reached the fourth spot.

Terrance got into heavy traffic a dozen laps in as Hebert ran third and challenged Gino Clair for second.  While Terrance was in front, Hebert used the inside lane to pass Clair for second on lap 19. The first caution came out in lap 20 for accident in the backstretch.

Hebert, from St-Damase, Quebec, finished his work, taking the top spot from Terrance.

Autodrome Drummond track champion Steve Bernard used the high lane to take third from Gino Clair as the leader caught up to slower cars 30 laps in.  Terrance was able to regain the lead just before two cars, one of which wheeled by series points runner-up Mario Clair, stopped in turn 2.

Terrance had a good jump as Bernard passed Hebert for third on the restart. Pierre Dagenais and Lance Willix got tangled in turn 2 on lap 37 to bring the next yellow flag.

When flagman Benoit Savoie showed the green flag, Terrance kept the lead as Hebert went back to second with Bernard close in third.

Terrance and Hebert ran side by side for a few laps as both drivers swapped lanes. Terrance got the advantage at first, but Hebert charged back in traffic conditions and took back the lead with 25 laps to go.

Hebert got away from the rest of the field with 60 laps in the history books, Terrance ran second with Bernard holding on third with Dominic Dufault in the mix. Dany Bilodeau had issues with the mount and the field was slowed down with only 7 laps to go.

The field went back to green conditions for one lap as Sebastien Gougeon stopped in turn 2 and the yellow lights lit.

Hebert charged to the lead with Terrance in second as series point leader Erick Rudolph stopped in turn 4, bringing caution out with 5 laps to go.

Hebert managed to win the 5-lap dash against Terrance claiming his second DIRTcar 358-Modified Series race of 2014 while Dufault completed the podium.

“We had a solid year here and having Carey Terrance running second to us gave a extra challenge,” mentioned race winner Hebert. “It is fun to race with 28 other competitors,” Hebert said about the presence of the series at his home track.

Carey Terrance was happy with his second: “Running a second place in only our second time here is good.” Terrance was a strong contender all night long: “I think we had something for Hebert; I wish I would have had more laps to try and pass him.”

RPM runner Dominic Dufault was also in a good mood in the winner circle: “My car was getting stronger as the race picked up momentum; I thought I had something for Terrance but we’ll take third.”

The DIRTcar 358-Series regular will not have time to rest as the series is heading to Brighton Speedway tomorrow evening for round 8 while the RPM Speedway will have a DIRTcar Doubleheader with the DIRTcar Sportsman and Pro-Stock in town.


DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Race #7—RPM Speedway, September 19, 2014 Event Summary


Feature Results:

David Hebert, Carey Terrance, Dominic Dufault, Steve Bernard, Gino Clair, Yan Bussiere, Alain Boisvert, Stephane Lafrance, Claude Brouillard, Kevin Hamel, Ryan Arbuthnot, Pierre Dagenais, Patrick Beaumier, Maxime Viens, Patrice Demers, Paul St-Sauveur, Jacques Pelletier, Lance Willix, Erick Rudolph, Dany Bilodeau, Sebastien Gougeon, Clement Therrien, Alan Therrien, Mario Clair, Jean-Francois Corriveau, Mario Lajoie, Paul Hamel, Eric Landry



Terrance (1-20)

Hebert (20-35)

Terrance (35-50)

Hebert (51-75)


Heat Races (8 laps, top 3 went to redraw, 5 to feature)


#1: C.Terrance, R.Arbuthnot, G.Clair, M.Lajoie, D.Dufault, S.Gougeon, K.Hamel, J.Pelletier, P.Hamel, L.Willix


#2: S.Bernard, S.Lafrance, Y.Bussiere, M.Clair, C.Brouillard, P.Beaumier, C.Therrien, A.Boisvert, E.Landry


#3: D.Hebert, E.Rudolph, A.Therrien, D.Bilodeau, P.Dagenais, P.St-Sauveur, JF Corriveau, M.Viens, P.Demers


RPM Speedway DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Race #7 Roster (28)


1H David Hebert – St-Damase, Quebec

3 Claude Brouillard – Tracy, Quebec

7 Patrice Demers – St-Hyacinthe

13 Kevin Hamel – Yamaska, Quebec

13p Paul Hamel – Yamaska, Quebec

16W Lance Willix – Theresa, N.Y.

21 Yan Bussiere – Drummondville, Quebec

22c Mario Clair – Drummondville, Quebec

22j Gino Clair – St-Germain, Quebec

22p Patrick Beaumier – Granby, Quebec

23b Dany Bilodeau – Victoriaville, Quebec

25 Erick Rudolph – Ransomville, N. Y.

26 Maxime Viens – Granby, Quebec

37 Paul St-Sauveur – La Presentation, Quebec

39 Clement Therrien – Victoriaville, Quebec

39a Alan Therrien – Victoriaville, Quebec

44 Sebastien Gougeon – Drummondville, Quebec

54 Steve Bernard – Granby, Quebec

63 Dominic Dufault – Ste-Victoire-de-Sorel, Quebec

66x Carey Terrance – Hogansburg, N. Y.

R70 Ryan Arbuthnot – Renfrew, Ontario

73 Alain Boisvert – Dorval, Quebec

81 Eric Landry – Trois-Rivières, Quebec

87 Mario Lajoie – Granby, Quebec

94 Jean-Francois Corriveau – Granby, Quebec

98 Jacques Pelletier – St-Francois-du-Lac, Quebec

115 Stephane Lafrance – Casselman, Ontario

124 Pierre Dagenais – Gatineau, Quebec



2014 DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Schedule

Sun., May 18  Cornwall Speedway  Cornwall, Ontario      Mario Clair

Mon., May 19 Merrittville Speedway Thorold, Ontario    Danny Johnson

Tues., July 1   Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ontario Erick Rudolph

Wed., July 2    Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, NY    Danny Johnson

Sun., Aug. 31  Cornwall Speedway  Cornwall, Ontario      Carey Terrance

Fri., Sept. 5     Autodrome Granby   Granby, Quebec         David Hebert

Fri., Sept. 12   Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, New York Billy Dunn

Fri., Sept. 19   Le RPM Speedway    St-Marcel De Richelieu, QC David Hebert

Sat., Sept. 20   Brighton Speedway  Brighton, Ontario

Wed., Oct. 8    Cayuga County Fairgrounds Speedway     Weedsport, NY

Thurs., Oct. 9  Brewerton Speedway           Brewerton, NY

Sat., Oct. 11     New York State Fairgrounds           Syracuse, NY

Fri., Oct. 17     Brockville Speedway            Brockville Speedway


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.

You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...

358 Modifieds

There’s no one path to Super DIRT Week. Some drivers started in go-karts. Some in Micro Sprints. Some straight to Modifieds. In the northeast,...


Brett Senek scored the DIRTcar Sportsman Championship Series victory at Ransomville on Tuesday evening in the 30-lap, $2,000-to-win, showcase event. Starting on the outside...