Devin Gilpin - Jim Denhamer photo

Gilpin Earns DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Kankakee County Speedway

Devin Gilpin - Jim Denhamer photo
Devin Gilpin – Jim Denhamer photo

By Jordan Morris

KANKAKEE, Ill. – June 12, 2014 – Two-time DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion Devin Gilpin passed Kenny Wallace with 15 laps remaining to score his first win of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals on Thursday night at Kankakee County Speedway.

Gilpin, of Columbus, Ind., rallied early to have a chance for the victory after his second place finish in the third heat. In the 25-lap feature, Kenny Wallace, of St. Louis, Mo., jumped out to the lead after shooting around pole-sitter Ray Bollinger on the first lap. Wallace held the top spot for eight laps before Gilpin muscled his way to the front, bringing Nick Allen with him. Gilpin maneuvered his way around Wallace on lap 9 and led the final 15 laps en route to capturing the $1,000 checkered flag.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Nick Allen, Kenny Wallace, Jeff Curl and Jamie Lomax rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Ray Bollinger, Kenny Wallace, and Mike McKinney

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues on Friday at Kankakee County Speedway.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Kankakee County Speedway; Kankakee, Ill.; June 12, 2014

A-Main (25-laps): 1. 1G-Devin Gilpin ($1,000), 2. 21A-Nick Allen, 3. 36-Kenny Wallace, 4. 12C-Jeff Curl, 5. 36L-Jamie Lomax, 6. 41G-Matt Goulden, 7. 5-Steven Brooks, 8. 96D-Cory Daugherty, 9. 77-Ray Bollinger, 10. 99J-Jimmy Dehm, 11. D1-Lance Dehm, 12. 37-Devin Wright, 13. 5J-Jeremie Johnson, 14. 35-Jason Hastings, 15-36K-Kevin Hastings, 16-J16-Jason Lakey, 17-31-Tom Bell, 18-82-Jacob Poel, 19-96M-Mike McKinney, 20-69-James Farris Sr., 21-6-Brock Bauman, 22-25W-Allen Weisser. Lap Leaders: Wallace 1-8, Gilpin 9-25.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. $1,500
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. $1,000
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $1,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $1,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $1,500
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $1,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $1,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. $1,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. $1,500
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. $1,000
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. $1,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $1,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $1,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $1,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $1,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $1,000
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $1,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $1,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $1,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.