Harrison Goes Back-to-Back at Tri-City Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Mike Harrison
Mike Harrison

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – June 24, 2011 – Mike Harrison seems to be a man on a mission when it comes to the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals . The Highland, Ill. driver powered to victory for his second consecutive $1,000 payday Friday night at Tri-City Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news on the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, click here to follow along on Twitter with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Harrison jumped to the lead after the initial start was slowed by pole sitter Kelby Simmons of Mason City, Ill. and held off Forrest, Ill., driver Jeff Curl to claim the win. Michael Long of Quincy, Ill., would finish third. St. Peters, Mo., pilot Bobby Regot III charged to a fourth place finish ahead of Tim Hancock of Mount Olive, Ill., who rounded out the top five.


Heat race winners were Simmons, Tommie Seets Jr. of Alton Ill., Harrison, and Dane Gundaker of Bridgeton, Mo. Tim Hancock and Scott Weber of Festus, Mo., captured B-Main victories.

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals return to action Saturday, June 25 at Fairbury American Legion Speedway in Fairbury, Ill.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-City (Ill.) Speedway; June 24, 2011

A-Main (25-Laps): 1. 24H Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. 12 Jeff Curl, 3. 18L Michael Long, 4. 4UW Bobby Regot, 5. 1 Tim Hancock, 6. 79D John DeMoss, 7. 1W Ray Walsh, 8. 16 Rusty Griffaw, 9. 56 Dane Gundaker, 10. 0X Steve Picou, 11. 12S Ed Shamhart, 12. 42W McKay Wenger, 13. 41M Brent Mullins, 14. 44K Jared Kneemiller, 15. 7L Jeff Ledford, 16. 2 Nick Hoffman, 17. 86T Tommie Seets Jr, 18. 808 Kelby Simmons, 19. 10B Brad White, 20. 49 Craig Kern, 21. 4J Scott Weber, 22. 1A Aaron Draege.

2011 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Ken Schrader (39)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Ryan Gustin (52)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Ken Schrader (37)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Mike Harrison (35)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison(41)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill.
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich.
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind.
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn.
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky.
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo.
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill.
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill.
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Summit Racing Equipment, Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, University of Northwestern Ohio, Aero Race Wheels, ASI Racewear, Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Fast Shafts, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Intercomp, Racing Electronics, Vicci, Chizmark Larson Insurance, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignition, QA1 Motorsports, Quarter Master, R2C Performance Intake Systems, RacingJunk.com, Willy’s Carburetor & Dyno Shop, VP Racing Fuels.