Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Eckert Goes Back-to-Back with Dominating DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win at Wisconsin’s Wilmot Raceway

Rick Eckert - Jim Denhamer photo
Rick Eckert - Jim Denhamer photo

Rick Eckert – Jim Denhamer photo

By Jordan Morris

WILMOT, Wis. – June 15, 2014 – Rick Eckert didn’t wait long after securing his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory on Friday night at Cedar Lake Speedway, following it up by leading flag-to-flag and capturing the victory on Sunday night at Wilmot Raceway.

Eckert, of York, Pa., started from the pole position with Ryan Unzicker on his outside. Eckert, the 2011 World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion racing the defending series champion’s Rocket Chassis car, held off Unzicker on the start of the race and after two early cautions.

Eckert finally pulled away from Unzicker after the third and final caution when a hard-charging Shannon Babb, coming from his ninth-place starting position, challenged Unzicker for second. Babb cleared Unzicker, but Eckert was already out to a sizeable lead. Eckert wound up lead all 40 laps, defeating Babb by more than one second, capturing his second checkered flag in as many events.

“Anytime I get to race is fun, and I love racing tracks that I’ve never been to,” said an excited Eckert in victory lane. “We were only going to hit a handful [of events] but now every day I get in the truck, I go wherever they set the GPS to, and they’ve been setting it for the next track. So we will probably see them at the next one.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Unzicker, Brian Shirley and Mike Spatola rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Eckert, Unzicker and Brandon Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Tuesday night at Farley Speedway in Farley, Iowa.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Wilmot Raceway; Wilmot, Wis.; June 15, 2014

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 1-Rick Eckert ($5,000), 2. 18-Shannon Babb, 3. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 4. 81-Brian Shirley, 5. 89-Mike Spatola, 6. 22-Gregg Satterllee, 7. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 8. 96-Tanner English, 9. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 10. 74-Mitch McGrath, 11. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 12. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 13. 1CJ-Gary Christian, 14. 1M-Jim Moon, 15. D7-Jim Letizia, 16. 32-Bobby Pierce, 17. 8R-Bill Rezutek, 18. 5M-Mike Fryer, 19. 21B-Rich Bell.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, Ind.

June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway

Kankakee, Ill.

Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, Wis.

Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, Wis.

June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa $10,000
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. $5,000
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $5,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $10,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $10,000
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $5,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $5,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. $5,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. $5,000
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. $10,000
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. $10,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $5,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $5,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

June 15th, 2014

Heat 1:
1. Rick Eckert
2. Brian Shirley
3. Gregg Satterlee
4. Tanner English
5. Billy Moyer, Jr.
6. Jim Moon
7. Mike Fryer

Heat 2:
1. Ryan Unzicker
2. Rich Bell
3. Mitch McGrath
4. Bobby Pierce
5. Gary Christian
6. Jim Letizia

Heat 3:
1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Mike Spatola
3. Shannon Babb
4. Scott Schmitt
5. Jason Riggs
6. Bill Rezutek

1. Rick Eckert
2. Shannon Babb
3. Ryan Unzicker
4. Brian Shirley
5. Mike Spatola
6. Gregg Satterlee
7. Brandon Sheppard
8. Tanner English
9. Scott Schmitt
10. Mitch McGrath
11. Billy Moyer, Jr.
12. Jason Riggs
13. Gary Christian
14. Jim Moon
15. Jim Letizia
16. Bobby Pierce
17. Bill Rezutek
18. Mike Fryer
19. Rich Bell

You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...