Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

CLMA DIRTcar Series

Eddie Kirchoff Wraps Up Second Career CLMA DIRTcar Series Championship this weekend

Colorado Late Model AssociationDupont, CO — With his 6th win of the season on Friday, August 20th a Casper Speedway all Eddie Kirchoff needed to do was start the race on Saturday, August 21st at Gillette Thunder Speedway to wrap up his second career Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series championship, but he wasn’t going to settle for just starting the race. An anonymous sponsor had put a $500 bounty out for anyone that could beat Eddie at Gillette Thunder Speedway and he was going to make sure that nobody was going to take it. Eddie started 5th and took the lead around lap ten and cruised to his 7th win of the season and became the 2010 Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series Champion.

It was the battle for 2nd threw 4th place that was becoming very interesting and the closest in series history. Going into the last race of the season at Gillette Thunder Speedway, Dave Garmann was leading Jason Schierkolk by 5 points and Scott Lewis by 11. Scott drew the poll for the main event, Jason was starting 8th, and Dave had to start last because of a flat tire in the heat race. Lewis ended up slipping back to 6th, but with Jason Schierkolk falling back to 11th and Garmann finishing 16th due to another flat tire, Scott was able to move to 2nd in points. In one of the closest points battles in series history Scott Lewis finished just 3 points ahead of Dave Garmann and 9 points ahead of Jason Schierkolk.  Eric Mass, JT Botts, Morris Oberle, Dan Henrickson, David Brack, and Steve Lewis rounded out the top ten in season points.

2010 Final Colorado Late Model Association Points Standings

1.) Eddie Kirchoff, Gillette, WY – 634

2.) Scott Lewis,  Henderson, CO – 530

3.) Dave Garmann, Brighton, CO – 527

4.) Jason Schierkolk, Casper, WY – 521

5.) Eric Mass, Rapid City, SD – 371

6.) JT Botts, Broomfield, CO – 322

7.) Morris Oberle, Lead, SD – 265

8.) Dan Henrickson, Rapid City, SD – 262

9.) David Brack, 255

10.) Steve Lewis, Denver, CO – 251

You May Also Like

Late Models

Bob Memmer had a love for Late Model racing and a specific vision for it. In 1984, he made it a reality. His vision...

Late Models

Part II of DIRTcar’s 40th season celebration story, detailing modern-era events, coming to May 19 1984. Ronald Reagan was running for U.S. presidential...

Factory Stocks

For DIRTcar Racing’s 40th anniversary season, drivers in every division will be getting a bigger slice of the cake at season’s end with the...

Late Models

DIRTcar Racing has reached an agreement with the Valvoline Iron Man Late Model Series to sanction all 24 events on its 2023 schedule. Participants...