Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

358 Modifieds

Erick Rudolph secures DIRTcar 358-Modified Series title by winning tour finale

His season’s first DIRTcar 358-Modified Series win propels Rudolph to championship circle


Brockville, Ontario – Sunday, Oct. 20, 2013 – Martin Bélanger, DIRTcar Correspondant– Erick Rudolph, of Ransomville, N. Y., claimed the DIRTcar 358-Modifed Series Championship with a thrilling victory in the tour’s 100-lap final round of the during day 2 of the 1000 Island RV DIRTcar Northeast Falls Nationals. Rudolph claimed the lead in lap 67 of the feature race Saturday, Oct. 19, and didn’t let up until the checkered flag waved.


Last Sunday’s Syracuse 200 winner at Syracuse Billy Dunn and local runner Lee Gill shared the top row for the start of the 100-lap event.  Dunn took the early lead with DIRTcar 358-Modified Series point leader Erick Rudolph following in second. An early caution slowed racers in lap 6 as Lee Ladouceur stopped in turn 4.


The top two leaders remained the same off the restart, with Brian McDonald powering ahead to claim third.  Gill and Danny O’Brien followed. Dunn joined slower traffic at the backend of the field, where cars running side-by-side slowed his progress.


Running in fourth spot, Lee Gill went off turn 3 and the yellow lights were lit with 23 laps down. A lap 32 restart saw Dunn still in the lead.


Brian McDonald by cracked the top 5, but he stepped out of turn 2 and the yellow got out as the feature neared its midpoint.


The halfwas point was reached under caution, with Dunn, Rudolph, Danny Johnson, Danny O’Brien and Dale Planck making up the top 5.


Planck was able to pass Danny O’Brien just before another yellow was thrown with Dave Austin having issues with his mount.


DIRTcar 358-Modified Series contender Mat Williamson made his way in the top 5 as Billy Dunn slipped off the track, losing valuable spots and giving the lead to Erick Rudolph on lap 67.


With 25 laps to go, Rudolph,Johnson, Planck, Williamson and Danny O’Brien composed the first five.


Both Johnson and Danny O’Brien had issues with their cars, losing their top 4 positions in lap 81.


On the restart, Rudolph remained the leader. Pat O’Brien lost his fifth spot in lap 90 with a flat right rear tire, giving his spot to Dunn who made his way back with the leaders. Williams also succumbed to a flat tire late in the race, losing his third-place position with one lap to go.


Rudolph managed to lead the last two laps in the green-white-checkered finish, winning his first event of the season and securing his first-ever DIRTcar 358-Modified Series title. Dale Planck, Billy Dunn, Alain Boisvert and Carey Terrance completed the top 5.


Rudolph was ecstatic in winner`s circle: “Wow! I can’t believe it, winning the race and getting the championship, I am really happy!” Rudolph was thankful for his team: ‘’I would like to thank everyone for a great year in the Snyder Industries Car’’.



DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Race #12 – Event Summary

1000 Island RV Falls Nationals 100

Brockville Ontario Speedway

October 19th, 2013


Feature Results:

Erick Rudolph, Dale Planck, Billy Dunn, Alain Boisvert, Carey Terrance, Alan Johnson, Matt Sheppard, David Hebert, Ryan Arbuthnot, Stephane Lafrance, Michel Chicoine, Brian McDonald, Mario Clair, Dany Bilodeau, Jeff Sykes, Pierre Dagenais, Mat Williamson, Tim O’Brien, Pat O’Brien, Steve Bernard, Danny O’Brien, John Mulder, Danny Johnson, Lee Gill, Lee Ladouceur, Dave Austin, Kyle Wilson, Jason Riddell, Adam Moore, Kyle Dingwall



Dunn (1-66)

Rudolph (67- 101)


Heat Races (8 laps, top 3 to redraw, top 5 qualify)


H1: Dale Planck, Pat O’Brien, David Hebert, Stephane Lafrance, Tim O’Brien, Alan Johnson, Michel Chicoine, Joel Doiron, Yan Bussiere, Joe Banks


H2: Steve Bernard, Lee Gill, Brian McDonald, Carey Terrance, Matt Sheppard, Alain Boisvert, Kyle Wilson, Jeff Sykes, Kevin Hamel, Jordan McCreadie


H3: Mat Williamson, Danny Johnson, Danny O’Brien, Kyle Dingwall, Mario Clair, Jason Riddell, Lee Ladouceur, John Mulder, Pierre Dagenais, Roger Levesque


H4: Erick Rudolph, Dany Bilodeau, Billy Dunn, Dave Austin, Adam Moore, Gilles Godard, Jean Boissonneault, Ryan Arbuthnot, Steve Bilow, David Papineau


Consolation Races:


C1: Alan Johnson, Alain Boisvert, Kyle Wilson, Jeff Sykes, Michel Chicoine, Jordan McCreadie, Yan Bussiere, Kevin Hamel, Joe Banks (DNS), joel Doiron (DNS)


C2: Jason Riddell, Lee Ladouceur, John Mulder, Ryan Arbuthnot, Pierre Dagenais, Steve Bilow, Gilles Godard, Jean Boissonneault, Roger Levesque, David Papineau (DNS)



Brockville Ontario Speedway DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Race #12 Roster (41)

1H David     Hebert – St-Damase, Quebec
4J Jeff     Sykes – Edwards, N. Y.
6 Mat     Williamson – St. Catharines, Ontario
6p Pat     O’Brien – Kingston, Ontario
7 Lee Gill     – LaFargeville, NY
7z Dale     Planck – Cortland, NY
9 Jason     Riddell – Brockville, Ontario
9j Jordan     McCreadie – Watertown, NY
9s Matt     Sheppard – Waterloo, NY
12 John     Mulder – Brockville, Ontario
13 Kevin     Hamel – Yamaska, Quebec
15 Kyle     Wilson – Joyceville, Ontario
17d Danny     O’Brien – Iverary, Ontario
20 Steve     Bilow – Kingston, Ontario
21 Yan     Bussiere – Drummondville, Quebec
22c Mario     Clair – Drummondville, Quebec
23  Billy Dunn – Watertown, NY
23b Dany     Bilodeau – Victoriaville, Quebec
24b Roger     Levesque – Kingston, Ontario
25 Erick     Rudolph – Ransomville, N. Y.
27 Gilles     Godard – Summerstown, Ontario
27j Danny     Johnson – Rochester, NY
31 Suzie     Langlois – Yamaska, Quebec
35 Adam     Moore – Kingston, Ontario
40 Joel     Doiron – Alexandria, Ontario
54 Steve     Bernard – Granby, Quebec
55j Alan     Johnson – Rochester, NY
61 Jean     Boissonneault – Granby, Quebec
66 Kyle     Dingwall – South Dundas, Ontario
66x Carey     Terrance – Hogansburg, N. Y.
R70 Ryan     Arbuthnot – Renfrew, Ontario
73 Alain     Boisvert – Lachine, Quebec
73a Dave     Austin – Brockville, Ontario
75j Joe     Banks – Kingston, Ontario
88 Tim     O’Brien – Kingston, Ontario
M96 Lee Ladouceur – Alexandria, Ontario
97 Michel     Chicoine – Ste-Cecile De Milton, Quebec
115     Shephane LaFrance – St. Albert, Ontario
124 Pierre     Dagenais – Gatineau, Quebec
151 Brian     McDonald – Cornwall, Ontario
188 David     Papineau – Akwesasne, Ontario

2013 DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Schedule


Mon. May 20, Merrittville Speedway, Thorold, Ont. – Matt Sheppard

Mon. July 1st, Cornwall Motor Speedway, Cornwall, Ont. – Matt Sheppard

Wed. July 3, Ransomville Speedway, Ransomville, N. Y. – Chad Brachmann

Sun. Sept. 1, Cornwall Motor Speedway, Cornwall, Ont. – Steve Bernard

Fri. Sept. 6,  Autodrome Drummond,  Drummondville, Que. – David Hebert

Fri. Sept. 13, Mohawk International Raceway,  Akwesasne, N. Y. – Matt Sheppard

Fri. Sept. 20,  Le RPM Speedway,  St-Marcel De Richelieu, Que. – Mario Clair

Sat. Sept. 21, Brighton Speedway, Brighton, Ont. – 100 laps – Inclement Weather

Wed. Oct. 9, Weedsport Speedway, Weedsport, N. Y. – 75 laps – Matt Sheppard

Thurs. Oct. 10, Brewerton Speedway, Brewerton N. Y. – 75 laps – Danny Johnson

Sat. Oct. 12, New York State Fairgrounds, Syracuse, N. Y. – 150 laps – Brett Hearn

Sat. Oct. 19, Brockville Ontario Speedway, Brockville, Ont. – 100 laps – Erick Rudolph

You May Also Like


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...

358 Modifieds

Season-long battles at tracks across the northeast have led to five new DIRTcar Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly champions. Marc Johnson (DIRTcar Big Block Modified),...