Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Summit Modified Nationals

Harrison Holds Off Schrader for DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Jacksonville Speedway

Mike Harrison - Jimmy Dearing photo
Mike Harrison - Jimmy Dearing photo

Mike Harrison – Jimmy Dearing photo


JACKSONVILLE, Ill. – June 16, 2015 – A star-studded field in Tuesday night’s DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals event at Jacksonville Speedway couldn’t slow three-time series champion Mike Harrison, who

Ken Schrader started alongside Harrison on the front row and led the first eight laps before Harrison used his inside line to slide in front when Schrader in the top lane caught the cushion just for a moment. Harrison, of Highland, Ill., held off Schrader and the rest of the field through a couple of cautions to pick up his first victory of this year’s tour.

“I love racing with Kenny,” Harrison said. “He’s got a lot of laps in the world. I just knew that top was a little hairy up there and I knew it was going to be a matter of being real smooth. Once I felt my car start coming in good and Kenny was starting to bobble a little bit, don’t know if he was tightening up or I was putting a little pressure on him, I just figured I’d work right there next to him. It paid off, and I just tried to hold the lead and make smooth laps.”

David Wietholder, Jeff Curl and Rusty Griffaw rounded out the top five. Former DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champ Kenny Wallace was 11th.

Click here for highlights of Tuesday night’s race.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action on Thursday night at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway; June 16, 2015

A-MAIN (25 LAPS) – 1. (24H) Mike Harrison, Highland, IL; 2. (9) Ken Schrader, Concord, NC; 3. (05) David Wietholder, Liberty, IL; 4. (12) Jeff Curl, Fairbury, IL; 5. (16) Rusty Griffaw, Festus, MO; 6. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 7. (35) Steven Delonjay, Quincy, IL; 8. (11) Kyle Byerline, Dawson, IL; 9. (22) Ryan Blakeman, Jacksonville, IL; 10. (3L) Jeff Leka, Buffalo, IL; 11. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 12. (11B ) Blake Buckholz, New Holland, IL; 13. (9C) Russ Coultas, Bluffs, IL; 14. (72A) Austin Lynn, Pekin, IL; 15. (36T) Steve Theivagt, Virginia, IL; 16. (89W) Rick Weitekamp, Springfield, IL; 17. (83) Kasey Schrock, Charleston , IL; 18. (9B) Charles Baker, Labelle, MO; 19. (72) Brian Lynn, Mason City, IL; 20. (59N ) Chad Evans, Mattoon, IL; 21. (51) Justin Allgaier, Springfield, IL; 22. (7) Rodney Bowman, Peoria, IL; 23. (9S) Tommy Sheppard JR, New Berlin, IL; 24. (10) A.J. Fike, Galesburg, IL; 25. (9P) Matt Pepmeyer, Macomb, IL (DNS); 26. (10A) Shawn Vaughn, Loami, IL (DNS).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Steven Delonjay, Ken Schrader and Mike Harrison.

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

You May Also Like

358 Modifieds

Another season of racing in the Northeast is complete, and drivers who battled weekly and on Series throughout 2023 were honored at the year-end...


Troutman finishes second from 21st, Hoffman ties David Reutimann for most event wins He hadn’t driven a DIRTcar UMP Modified in almost 14 months,...


Due to substantial rainfall throughout the week continuing into Friday morning, officials have postponed the Friday portion of the 10th annual Emil & Dale...

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...