Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

James Goes Back-to-Back for Highland Speedway Hell Tour Win

Scott James

Scott James

HIGHLAND, Ill. – June 22, 2011 – Scott James is making the most of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, surging to his second consecutive win worth $5,000 Wednesday night at Highland (Ill.) Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

The driver from Lawrenceburg, Ind., drove the Scott Riggs owned #81 to the win over Quincy, Ill. native Mark Burgtorf who challenged late in the 40-lap main event.  The win will extend James’ point lead over third finishing Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., who challenged James early on.  James also won a heat race after starting on the pole courtesy of a quick time effort in group five of time trials.


Tim Lance of Bloomfield, Ill., would finish the night in the fourth spot after a heat race win earlier in the night while overall fast timer and third heat race winner Doug Drown of Wooster, Ohio rounded out the top five.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action tomorrow night Thursday June 23 at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Highland Speedway; Highland, Ill.; June 22, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Scott James, 2. Mark Burgtorf, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Tim Lance, 5. Doug Drown, 6. Jason Feger, 7. Dillan White, 8. Ryan Unzicker, 9. Kevin Cole, 10. Matt Miller, 11. Frankie Martin, 12. Brian Shirley, 13. Dennis Erb Jr., 14. Clay Baumann, 15. Brandon Sheppard, 16. Donny Walden, 17. Rusty Schlenk, 18. Kent Robinson, 19. Jeep Van Wormer, 20. Rick Salter, 21. Mike Schulte, 22. Randy Korte. B-Main winner: Baumann. C-Main winners: Jack Sullivan, Jay Sparks. Provisional starters: Shirley, Erb, Schulte, Walden.

Heat 5: Shannon Babb, Rick Salter, Matt Miller, Frank Martin, Donnie Walden, Billy Moyer Jr., Tanner English, Shannon Kuhn, Matt Weidner.

Heat 4: Scott James, Rusty Schlenk, Ryan Unzicker, Mark Voigt, Chad Zorbrist, Jim Moon, Dan Jacober, Jason Riggs, Gary Christian.

Heat 3: Doug Drown, Kevin Cole, Randy Korte, Mark Faust, Kevin Weaver, Michael Kloos, Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Schulte, Paul Bailey, Bobby Pierce.

Heat 2: Mark, Burgtorf, Jason Feger, Brandon Sheppard, Jeep VanWormer, Steve Casebolt, Brian Shirley, Rick Standbridge, D.J. Cygan, Simon McNab, Brent Helmkamp.

Heat 1: Tim Lance, Dillan White, Kent Robinson, Clay Baumann, Rusty Griffaw, Ryan Little, Jack Sullivan, Jay Sparks, Steve Leach.

Time trials (unofficial)
First group
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 14.486
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 14.768
Kent Robinson (7r), Bloomington, Ind., 14.866
Rusty Griffaw (16), Festus, Mo., 14.870
Dewayne Kiefer, (0), Saint Geneviene, Mo., 14.965
Clay Baumann (77), Highland, Ill., 15.027
Ryan Little (38L), Springfield, Ill., 15.481
Jay Sparks (7s), Metamora, Ill., 15.501
Steve Leach (49), Staunton, Ill., 15.651
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 15.687

Second group
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 14.850
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 14.937
Rick Standbridge (12), Collinsville, Ill., 15.067
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 15.080
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 15.113
Steve Casebolt (c9), Richmond, Ind., 15.165
Brandon Sheppard (5B), New Berlin, Ill., 15.368
Brent Helmkamp (31), Greenville, Ill., 15.745
D.J. Cygan (10), Saint Jacob, Ill., 15.861
Simon McNab (49w), Perth, Australia, 16.535

Third group
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 14.197
Kevin Cole (81c), Christopher, Ill., 14.308
Mark Faust (51), Breese, Ill., 14.357
Randy Korte (00), Highland Ill., 14.457
Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 14.599
Mike Schulte (27s), Summerfield, Ill., 15.042
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 15.087
Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 15.176
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) Carpentersville, Ill., 15.316
Paul Bailey (81), Pocahontas, Ill., 15.456

Fourth group
Scott James (81), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 14.328
Rusty Schlenk (91), Jackson, Mich., 14.495
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 14.538
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 14.594
Chad Zobrist (78), Highland, Ill., 14.651
Gary Christian (58x), Broken Bow, Okla., 14.973
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 15.068
Dan Jacober (22), Highland, Ill., 15.298
Jason Riggs (81jr), Harrisburg, Ill., 15.393

Fifth group
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 14.632
Matt Miller (7), Waterville, Ohio, 14.748
Rick Salter (1), Albers, Ill., 14.954
Tanner English (96), Benton, Ky., 15.005
Frank Martin (25m), DuQuoin, Ill., 15.195
Donnie Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 15.197
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 15.255
Matt Weidner (7), Highland, Ill., 15.256
Shannon Kuhn (11), Highland, Ill., 15.619
Lenny Garson (25), Pochontas, Ill., 17.652
Steve Thorsten (7t), Chebanse, Ill., no time

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill.
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill.
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill.
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich.
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind.
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill.
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn.
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky.
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo.
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill.
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill.
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.


You May Also Like


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...


Charleston Speedway wins track of the year, Brad Denney wins Promoter of the year, Bob Memmer Award The final order of business for the...


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...

DIRTcar Late Model Recaps

For the second time in three weeks, Tanner English is a DIRTcar Summer Nationals Feature winner. It’s a great achievement for the Riggs Motorsports...