Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sportsman Modifieds

James M. Friesen tops Sportsman Modifieds at Syracuse

JM Friesen waves chexFB

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – October 11, 2015 – In his second ever and last appearance on the “Moody Mile” at the New York State Fairgrounds, James Michael Friesen of St. Catharines, ON wired the field in a dominant performance after starting third in a 36-car field.

The 30-lap race had eight cautions, but no one, including runner-up Rocky Warner of Gloversville, N.Y., was able to draw alongside Friesen’s Manchester Cable No. 52.

Warner rose up from 10th to finish second. Shane Pecore of St. Andrews, ON completed the podium finish ahead of Ronnie Davis in 4th and Corey Wheeler in 5th.

“The track was very slick in one and two, but there was rubber in three and four that worked for me,” Friesen said. “He (Warner) would catch me in turns one and two when I had to lift, but I could gain on the other end.”

Friesen said his team shut down his weekly racing schedule two weeks ago to prepare for Syracuse.

“I got a lot of help from James and Ivan Little,” he said. “This win feels awesome.”

Warner ran the Jake Spraker-owned No. 1J in the low lane and passed Pecore for second on lap 18. “Friesen fired off a little better on the restarts,” he said. “On the longer runs, we were better.

Seventy-five Sportsman Modifieds attempted to qualify for the event.

The finale of the 2015 DIRTcar NE Sportsman Series takes place as a part of the Fall Nationals event at Brockville Ontario Speedway Saturday, October 17.

DIRTcar NE Sportsman Feature Super DIRT Week Syracuse Fairgrounds; Oct. 11, 2015

A-Main (30 Laps green flag laps): start in (*)

  1. 52 James M Friesen (1)
  2. 1J Rocky Warner (10)
  3. 0 Shane Pecore (1)
  4. 32R Ron Davis III (4)
  5. 47s Corey Wheeler (12)
  6. 30 Brad Rouse (14)
  7. 92 Joey Ladouceur (5)
  8. 234 Adam McAuliffe (11)
  9. 27 Jeremy Pitts (8)
  10. 42 Harry Murphy (6)
  11. 55c Jesse Cotriss (7)
  12. M1 Dave Marcuccilli (23)
  13. 98 Dan Kapuscinski (13)
  14. 15b Brianna Ladouceur (20)
  15. 12 Taylor Caprara (15)
  16. 67g Eric Giguere (36)
  17. 1F A.J.Lloyd (28)
  18. 93J Cody Bleau (16)
  19. 24k Nick Krause (33)
  20. 2T Chris Thurston (9)
  21. 1 Sammy Reakes Jr. (17)
  22. 28w Sandy Pembleton (25)
  23. 415 Andrew Wren (18)
  24. 3 Alex Lajoie (30)
  25. 16J Aaron Jacobs (32)
  26. 18Jr Louie Jackson Jr. (22)
  27. 28 Tyler Meeks (26)
  28. 0 Frankie Holmes (29)
  29. 23s Mike Stacey (27)
  30. 180 Aaron Pugh (31)
  31. 7s Michael Sabia (24)
  32. 711 John Sowle (21)
  33. 28s Jim Spellmon (2)
  34. 52 Jessica Power (19)
  35. 35w Chris Curtis (34)
  36. 99 Brian Papiez (35)


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.

You May Also Like