Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sportsman Modifieds

James Michael Friesen takes DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series at Ransomville Speedway

Brad Rouse claims series point lead with fourth place finish

RANSOMVILLE, N.Y. – Saturday, September 6, 2014 James Michael Friesen took victory in the DIRTcar Sportsman fifty lap series event last Friday night.

Friesen was in a torrid side by side battle with Cody McPherson when a caution slowed the main on lap eighteen. Piloting his Manchester Cable sponsored #52, Friesen set the pace on the restart and maintained the top spot through the remaining laps.

McPherson held on for the runner up position followed by Matthew Desjardins, Brad Rouse, and James Henry. Rouse, strong in fourth, took over the series point lead. A total of thirty starters took the green with twenty on the track at the checkered. Gary Lindberg, Justin Sharp, Rob Clark, Boyd MacTavish, and Derrick Borkenhagen rounded out the top ten.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series picks back up Saturday, Sept. 6, with a 50-lap feature at Merrittville Speedway in Thorold, Ontario.

DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Statistical Report

Ransomville Speedway

Friday, September 5, 2014

A-Main Finish – 1. JAMES MICHAEL FRIESEN, 2. Cody McPherson, 3. Matthew Desjardins, 4. Brad Rouse, 5. James Henry, 6. Gary Lindberg, 7. Justin Sharp, 8. Rob Clark, 9. Boyd MacTavish, 10. Derrick Borkenhagen, 11. Greg Martin, 12. Austin Wood, 13. Matt Farnham, 14. Kevin Wills, 15. Jessica Power, 16. Adam Leslie, 17. Louis Jackson Jr., 18. Kenny Wills, 19. Mike Stacey, 20. Allan Wills, 21. Adam Hilton, 22. Scott George, 23. Sean Letts, 24. Jim Zimmerman, 25. Jesse Cotriss, 26. Shane Pecore, 27. Andy Smith, 28. Cory Wheeler, 29. Billy Coleman.

B-Main Winner – Mike Maresca.

Heat Winners – James Michael Friesen, Jesse Cotriss, Shane Pecore, and Greg Martin.

2014 DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Schedule of Events

Date Track Location

Sun., June 1 Cornwall Speedway Cornwall, Ontario M.Pelletier

Wed., July 2 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, New York J.Sharp

Mon., July 21 Autodrome Granby Granby, Quebec M.Pelletier

Tues., July 22 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville, Quebec S. Pecore

Fri., Sept. 5 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, NY J. Friesen

Sat., Sept. 6 Merrittville Speedway Merrittville, Ontario

Sun., Sept. 7 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ontario

Sat., Sept. 13 Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, New York

Fri., Sept. 19 Brighton Speedway Brighton, Ontario

Sat., Sept. 20 Le RPM Speedway St. Marcel de Richelieu, QC

Wed., Oct. 8 Cayuga County Fairgrounds Speedway Weedsport, NY

Sat., Oct. 11 New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse, NY

Sat., Oct. 18 Brockville Speedway Brockville, Ontario

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.


You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Brett Senek scored the DIRTcar Sportsman Championship Series victory at Ransomville on Tuesday evening in the 30-lap, $2,000-to-win, showcase event. Starting on the outside...

Sportsman Modifieds

McPherson captures West Region DIRTcar Sportsman title, eyes Hoosier Racing Tire championship, Super DIRT Week title After having a season that most competitors could...