Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Jason Feger dominates Jacksonville for Hell Tour win!

Jason Feger
Jason Feger

Jason Feger


By Jordan Morris

JACKSONVILLE, Ill.  July 2, 2014 — 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Jason Feger led flag-to-flag en route to claiming the $5,000 victory Wednesday night at Jacksonville Speedway, his second win in six DIRTcar Summer Nationals starts this year.

Feger, making his first start since rolling his car Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway,  started the 40-lap feature on the outside of pole-sitter Billy Moyer Jr. At the drop of the green flag, Feger shot around Moyer Jr. for the lead and never looked back. Moyer Jr. hung with Feger for a few laps, but after an early race caution the leader began to pull away from the field.

Moyer Jr. mounted a charge around lap 24, as he closed to within a car-length of the leader, but Feger switched to a lower racing line and pulled back away from second place, which began to come under fire from third place.

Three time DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Shannon Babb, who started in the fourth position, surged to the front of the field, eventually overtaking Moyer Jr. for second. Unfortunately for Babb, Feger had already built an insurmountable lead on the field.

Feger maintained a straightaway lead for the remainder of the feature event, dominating the night and scoring the well-deserved $5,000 checkered flag at Jacksonville Speedway, just three nights after his wild ride at Lincoln Speedway.

“Hard work pays off,” said Feger who scored his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory in the last three years at Jacksonville Speedway. “We got lucky with the roll [Sunday night] – we only broke some bolt on suspension stuff and bent the body up a little – but we put in some long hours the last couple of days to get ready. We worked real hard and got the results tonight.”

Moyer Jr., Brandon Sheppard, and Tanner English rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Moyer Jr., Feger, and Brandon Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Thursday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at LaSalle Speedway in LaSalle, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Jacksonville Speedway; Jacksonville, Ill.;

July 2, 2014; A-Main (40-laps): 1. 25-Jason Feger ($5,000), 2. 18-Shannon Babb, 3. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 4. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 5. 96-Tanner English, 6. 32-Bobby Pierce, 7. 42-MCKay Wenger, 8. 32J-Jason Jaggers, 9. 81-Brian Shirley, 10. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 11. 7B-Mark Burgtorf, 12. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 13. 1ST-Justin Reed, 14. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 15. 29W-Brian Divley, 16. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 17. 1M-Jim Moon, 18. 71-Trace Westling, 19. 16H-Mike Hammerle, 20. 24T-Matt Taylor, 21. 38L-Ryan Little, 22. 20- Alan Westling.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley(2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

Heat 1:
1. Billy Moyer, Jr.
2. Shannon Babb
3. Kevin Weaver
4. Bobby Pierce
5. Jason Riggs
6. Mark Burgtorf
7. Brian Shirley
8. Steve Lach
9. Richard Frost
10. Ryan Little

Heat 2:
1. Jason Feger
2. Tanner English
3. McKay Wenger
4. Ryan Unzicker
5. Matt Taylor
6. Jim Moon
7. Greg Kimmons
8. Jason Zobrist
9. Mike Hammerle
10. Billy Hough

Heat 3:
1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Jason Jaggers
3. Justin Reed
4. Trace Westling
5. Steve Lance, Jr.
6. Brian Dively
7. John Beck
8. Chuck Mitchell
9. Alan Westling

1. Brian Shirley
2. Mark Burgtorf
3. Brian Dively
4. Jim Moon
5. Jason Zobrist
6. Greg Kimmons
7. Richard Frost
8. Steve Lach
9. John Beck
10. Chuck Mitchell
11. Billy Hough
12. Mike Hammerle
13. Alan Westling
14. Ryan Little

1. Jason Feger
2. Shannon Babb
3. Billy Moyer, Jr.
4. Brandon Sheppard
5. Tanner English
6. Bobby Pierce
7. McKay Wenger
8. Jason Jaggers
9. Brian Shirley
10. Ryan Unzicker
11. Mark Burgtorf
12. Kevin Weaver
13. Justin Reed
14. Jason Riggs
15. Brian Dively
16. Steve Lance, Jr.
17. Jim Moon
18. Trace Westling
19. Mike Hammerle
20. Matt Taylor
21. Ryan Little
22. Alan Westling

You May Also Like

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...

Late Models

Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...

Late Models

DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...