Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Summit Modified Nationals

Kinder Survives Three-Car Battle to Capture DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Fairbury

Chad Kinder - Jimmy Dearing photo
Chad Kinder - Jimmy Dearing photo

Chad Kinder – Jimmy Dearing photo


Rain Pushes Quincy Raceways Event to Monday

FAIRBURY, Ill. – June 20, 2015 – Chad Kinder used to the top side of Fairbury American Legion Speedway to survive an epic three-car battle with Mike Harrison and Jay Ledford for his first victory of the 2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour.

NOTE: Sunday’s event at Quincy Raceways has been moved to Monday night (June 22) because of rain. Hot laps are scheduled to begin at 6:15 p.m.

Kinder, of Newton, Ill., started on the outside of the front row alongside Brian Shaw. The two raced wheel-to-wheel before Harrison and Ledford made it a three-car battle. Kinder held his ground through two restarts and powered to victory, worth $1,500.

Championship points leader Tyler Nicely worked his way to second by the time the checkered flag waved with Ledford, Jeff Curl and Harrison rounding out the top five.

Click here for highlights of Saturday night’s race.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals now returns to action on Monday night at Quincy (Ill.) Raceways. Hot laps are slated for 6:15 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at, or visit the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway; June 20, 2015

A-MAIN (25 LAPS) – 1. (22S) Chad Kinder, Newton, IL; 2. (25) Tyler Nicely, Owensboro, KY; 3. (7L) Jay Ledford, Pontiac, IL; 4. (12) Jeff Curl, Fairbury, IL; 5. (24H) Mike Harrison, Highland, IL; 6. (1S) Brian Shaw, Robinson, IL; 7. (1D) Dean Hoffman, Troy, IL; 8. (1W) Bob Pohlman, Oaklawn, IL; 9. (5) Steven Brooks, New Lenox, IL; 10. (G1) Gabe Menser, Ashmore, IL; 11. (16C) Josh Harris, Utica, KY; 12. (18) Jeffery Ledford, Pontiac, IL; 13. (4) Jeb Friedman, Pontiac, IL; 14. (72) Brian Lynn, Mason City, IL; 15. (25P) Dave Porth, Gardner, IL; 16. (3L) Jeff Leka, Buffalo, IL; 17. (D1) Lance Dehm, Chatsworth, IL; 18. (10X) Jim Black, Bonne Terre, MO; 19. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 20. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 21. (67) Chris Gaither, Pontiac, IL; 22. (2%) Nicholas Clubb, Coal City, IL.

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Jay Ledford, Mike Harrison, Chad Kinder and Brian Shaw.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Championship Top 20

Pos. Car Driver Points
1 25 Tyler Nicely 280
2 16C Josh Harris 229
3 c12 Jeff Curl 201
4 6B Dave Baldwin 178
5 9 Ken Schrader 175
6 90 Bradley Sterrett 145
7 77 Ray Bollinger 143
8 36 Kenny Wallace 142
9 24H Mike Harrison 136
10 5 Steven Brooks 119
11 59N Chad Evans 116
12 G1 Gabe Menser 114
13 1W Bob Pohlman 111
14 89W Rick Weitekamp 104
15 24Z Zeke McKenzie 103
16 1BUD Zach Fair 98
17 3L Jeff Leka 83
18 1G Devin Gilpin 80
19 22S Chad Kinder 80
20 72 Brian Lynn 75

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communications Provider), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joe’s Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp.

You May Also Like

358 Modifieds

Another season of racing in the Northeast is complete, and drivers who battled weekly and on Series throughout 2023 were honored at the year-end...


Troutman finishes second from 21st, Hoffman ties David Reutimann for most event wins He hadn’t driven a DIRTcar UMP Modified in almost 14 months,...


Due to substantial rainfall throughout the week continuing into Friday morning, officials have postponed the Friday portion of the 10th annual Emil & Dale...

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...