Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Looney Snares MDLMS Opener at Clinton

Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series


by Dusty Wiegert

CLINTON, Okla. — The 2010 campaign for the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series kicked off at the high-banked Wild West Speedway on Saturday night May 1 with Missouri native Brad Looney taking an impressive win.

Rookie driver Brookin Stephens drew the pole for the main event after a dominating heat race victory with Independence, Kansas driver Andy Gerstenkorn to his outside. Stephens broke to an early lead before Texas driver Bryan Sugg took over on lap 2. Sugg held the top spot before losing it in turn 2 with Stephens taking control. But before the leaders got to turn 3 Brad Looney had already ran from his 11th place starting position to take command in turns 3 & 4 on lap 7. From there it was smooth sailing for Looney as he picked off lapped traffic. Looney cruised to the win followed by Sugg, Joe Gorby, Stephens, and Shawn Brassfield.

Stephens and Looney were the heat race winners.

Brad Looney

Brad Looney

Looney also picked up the Alternative Pest Management Cash Dash win, a race involving the 5 drivers furthest from home and paying $150 for the winner.

The series’ next stop takes place next Friday and Saturday night May 7-8 at the Dodge City Raceway Park with 2 complete shows at the inaugural Six Shooter Showdown. The race will be a co-sanctioned UMP DIRTcar Event featuring the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series and the Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series.

For more information on the MDLMS please visit


A Feature
1. 14 Brad Looney
2. 18 Bryan Sugg
3. 9 Joe Gorby
4. T56 Brookin Stephens
5. 91B Shawn Brassfield
6. 51 Andy Gerstenkorn
7. 25T Tyler Gottschalk
8. 7C Gary Gorby
9. 28C Cale Gottschalk
10. 59 Brad Fortney
11. 56 Darin Busch
12. 20 Ron Grover
13. 81 Doug Sieh

Heat 1
1. Stephens
2. G. Gorby
3. T. Gottschalk
4. Sugg
5. Gerstenkorn
6. C. Gottschalk
7. Fortney

Heat 2
1. Looney
2. Brassfield
3. J. Gorby
4. Grover
5. Busch
6. Sieh

APM Dash: Looney

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

2014 tour comprised of 33 events in 39 days through nine Midwestern states CONCORD, N.C. – June 10, 2014 – The DIRTcar Summer Nationals...

DIRTcar Nationals

CLICK HERE FOR MORE PHOTOS FROM VOLUSIA SPEEDWAY PARK! Michigan racer locks into Monday night’s $5,000-to-win Gator Championship BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 16, 2013...

Late Models

CONCORD, NC – Sept. 5, 2012 – A pair of New Mexico drivers are locked in a battle for the championship of the inaugural...

Late Models

By Ben Deatherage Lebanon, Oregon- Fans of Willamette Speedway will see two things this coming Saturday August 18th.  One is that all five regular...