Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Pro Stocks

Martin Pelletier Dominates the DIRTcar Sportsman Series race at Cornwall

by Martin Bélanger

CORNWALL, Ont – Sunday, September 4, 2016 – Sportsman star Martin Pelletier took the lead on lap 18 and never looked back, becoming the fourth driver to win on the tour in 2016.

“The track was slick, and I was able to bring my car up and stick it there,” said Pelletier from the winners circle. “We will make a decision this week if we are going to Niagara, but we will make a big portion of the series.”

Louie Jackson was the early leader in the DIRTcar Sportsman Race for the Cure as points leader Shane Pecore moved up to second with Gabriel Cyr running in third.

Pelletier started to make some noise by lap 10 as he passed Cyr for third and found something on the high lane, passing both Pecore and Jackson before he got the lead on lap 18.

Pelletier started to pull away from the field in heavy traffic as the feature picked up some great momentum.

Pelletier had Jackson on his back bumper with 15 lap to go. Pelletier brushed off the challenges from Jackson and collected the win over Jackson and Pecore.

The 50-lap event went caution free and lasted only 13 minutes!

The DIRTcar Sportsman series will have a busy next weekend heading into the beautiful Niagara region for three nights in a row with stops at Ramsomville Speedway on Friday, Merrittville on Saturday and Humberstone on Sunday.

DIRTcar Sportsman Series Race #4
Cornwall Motor Speedway, September 4, 2016

Rutters Elevators & Pioneer Hi-Bred 50 Feature Results: Martin Pelletier, Louie Jackson, Shane Pecore, Jonathon Ferguson, Gabriel Cyr, Adam Rozon, Tyler Givogue, Ryan Stabler, Tristan Draper, Mathieu Bardier, Dave Rogers, Emmanuel St-Denis, Dave Marcuccilli, Thomas Cook, Steve Morris, Scott McGill, Jessica Power, Brianna Ladouceur, Mike Stacey, Bryan Cloutier, Moise Page, Derek Cryderman, Justin Lalancette, Ron Davis III, Alex Lajoie, Felix Murray, Michael Richard, Gilles Godard, Martin Hebert, Chris Cunningham, Ryan Scott, Ryan Comeau

Upcoming DIRTcar Sportsman Series Schedule
Sept. 9 Ransomville Speedway
Sept. 10 Merrittville Speedway
Sept. 11 Humberstone Speedway
Sept. 16 Brewerton Speedway
Sept. 17 Mohawk Speedway
Sept. 23 LeRPM Speedway
Sept. 24 Brighton Speedway
Sept. 30 Fulton Speedway
Oct. 1 Fulton Speedway
Oct. 5 Weedsport Speedway
Oct. 6 Brewerton Speedway
Oct. 9 Oswego Speedway
Oct. 15 Brockville Speedway

You May Also Like