Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Moyer Outlast Rain for Fifth Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Season at Farmer City Raceway

Billy Moyer - Jim Denhamer
Billy Moyer - Jim Denhamer

Billy Moyer – Jim Denhamer photo

By Jordan Morris

FARMER CITY, Ill. — July 11, 2014 — One night after Shannon Babb tied Billy Moyer atop the DIRTcar Summer Nationals all-time wins list at 86 career victories, Moyer retook the lead and broke the tie by outlasting the rain and dominating Friday night at Farmer City Raceway.

Brian Shirley started the 40-lap feature event from the pole-position with Mike Spatola starting to his outside. Neither driver managed to lead a lap as third-place starter Billy Moyer rocketed around both front-row starters and claimed the top spot on the first lap.

The six-time champion Moyer had the car to beat all night as he jumped out to a commanding lead early and never looked back. The only thing that dampened Moyer’s night was when a rain shower temporarily halted the race on lap 27.

Before the caution flew for rain, two race contenders were plagued by flat tires. Shirley, who started from the pole, rode around on a flat right-rear, gambling that the ensuing rain shower would end the race, but his bet didn’t pay off as he was caught in the pits when the caution did finally fly. Seventh-place starter Brandon Sheppard was cutting into Moyer’s large lead when he too suffered a flat tire on lap 27 just before the caution came out.

When the racing resumed, Moyer again proved to be too strong, as he easily dominated the remaining 13 laps, defeating fifth-place starting Bobby Pierce by over two seconds, en route to claiming the $10,000 checkered flag, his fifth win of the season and 87th career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory,

“You just gotta have patience,” said Moyer of the rain-delayed feature event. “I’m usually pretty good at that, just trying to hold yourself back and not make any stupid moves. Really, I couldn’t see. It was kinda, I guess, raining the whole time, spitting, I think, you know, because the vision wasn’t good the whole race really.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Shannon Babb, Mike Spatola and Kevin Weaver rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Moyer, Shirley, Jason Feger and Spatola.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Saturday night at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Farmer City Raceway; Farmer City, Ill.; July 11, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 21-Billy Moyer ($10,000), 2. 32-Bobby Pierce, 3. 18-Shannon Babb, 4. 89-Mike Spatola, 5. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 6. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 7. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 8. 7R-Kent Robinson, 9. 81-Brian Shirley, 10. 89F-Daren Friedman, 11. Z-Joe Harlan, 12. 96-Tanner English, 13. 9D-Daniel Flessner, 14. 7T-Steve Thorsten, 15. 4G-Bob Gardner, 16. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 17. 25-Jason Feger, 18. 116-Torin Mettille, 19. 75D-Billy Drake, 20. 42-MCKay Wenger, 21. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 22. 83-Scott Bull.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Billy Moyer(3)
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Jason Jameson
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Billy Moyer(4)
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. Shannon Babb(3)
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Billy Moyer(5)
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing. 

You May Also Like

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...

Late Models

Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...

Late Models

DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...