Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Moyer sweeps MARS / UMP Challenge

MARS DIRTcar SeriesPevely, MO (August 28, 2010) – Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR sweeps the MARS / UMP Challenge by winning the feature event at I-55 Raceway in Pevely, MO. Moyer started the $5,000 to win feature from the sixth position and tracked down race long leader Jeremy Payne of Springfield, MO near the half way point of the forty lap affair. Once out front Moyer opened up a full straight-away lead over eventual second place finisher Shannon Babb of Mowequa, IL. Payne would hold on to finish third.

Former UMP National Champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL sat on the pole and finished in fourth. Brian Shirley of Chatam, IL started in the ninth position and finished in fifth.

Billy Moyer

Billy Moyer - Ron Mitchell Photo

The forty lap feature went caution free and only took 12 minutes to run. In addition, all twenty-four starters finished the race.

Billy Moyer records his 13th career win with the MARS series.

Next up for the MARS DIRTcar Series is the 39th Annual 4-State Dirt Track Championships on September 5th at Monett Speedway in Monett, MO.

A Feature Results (40 cars): 1) Billy Moyer 2) Shannon Babb 3) Jeremy Payne 4) Dennis Erb Jr. 5) Brian Shirley 6) Michael Kloos 7) Bryan Collins 8) Jack Sullivan 9) Jason Feger 10) Ken Schrader 11) Mark Voigt 12) Ken Rumble 13) Ricky Frankel 14) Scott Weber 15) Wendell Wallace 16) Terry Phillips 17) Jason McBride 18) Terry English 19) Eric Turner 20) Dewaine Kiefer 21) Scott Christian 22) Jeff Johns 23) Darrell Mooneyham 24) Leroy Johnson

Heat #1 Results: 1) Shannon Babb 2) Dewaine Kiefer 3) Ricky Frankel 4) Terry Phillips 5) Jeff Byars 6) Leroy Johnson 7) Dustin Mooneyham 8) Tom Krankel

Heat #2 Results: 1) Ken Rumble 2) Billy Moyer 3) Mark Voigt 4) Eric Turner 5) Darrell Mooneyham 6) Mike Jessup 7) Tim Manville 8) Ron McQuery

Heat #3 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Gary Christian 3) Ken Schrader 4) Terry English 5) Jeff Johns 6) Scott Weber 7) Chris Fisher 8) Craig Smith

Heat #4 Results: 1) Bryan Collins 2) Brian Shirley 3) Jack Sullivan 4) Jason McBride 5) Wendell Wallace 6) Paul Roider 7) Jim Gibson 8) Chris Hall

Heat #5 Results: 1) Michael Kloos 2) Dennis Erb Jr. 3) Jason Feger 4) Tanner English 5) Nick Lyons 6) Rich Lawson 7) Will Vaught 8) Brent Kreke

B Feature #1 Transfers: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Scott Weber

B Feature #2 Transfers: 1) Wendell Wallace 2) Eric Turner

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series and be found at

You May Also Like

Late Models

FAIRBURY, IL – Leading the FALS Super Nationals Feature with less than 10 laps remaining, Bobby Pierce had a brief flashback to the final...

Late Models

FARMER CITY, IL – He’s won this year using the bottom lane and the middle, and now The Highside Hustler is right back to...

Late Models

FARMER CITY, IL – A single word can sum up Bobby Pierce’s performance Thursday night at Farmer City Raceway – dominant. Before the race’s...

DIRTcar Nationals

Saldana holds off McMahan in sprint cars during 12-day event at Volusia BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 13, 2014 – Kyle Bronson edged Ty Dillon,...