Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Night 21 of the 26-Event UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals: Shannon Babb Rolls To Third Straight Win At Quincy Raceway

QUINCY, IL – July 10, 2007 – Shannon Babb doesn’t want to see the 2007 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals come to an end.

Continuing his late surge on the tour, the Moweaqua, Ill., superstar rolled to a flag-to-flag victory in Tuesday night’s 40-lap A-Main at Quincy Raceway.

It was the third consecutive triumph for Babb, who opted not to defend his 2005-06 Summernationals titles this year but is hitting his stride in the tour’s final week.

Taking advantage of a pole position starting spot, Babb kept his Billy Moyer Sr.-owned Rayburn car in command for the entire distance. He outdistanced Summernationals points leader Dennis Erb Jr., who started from the fifth row, for the $6,000 victory.

Babb, 33, registered his 54th career UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals win. That ranks him second behind 62-time victor Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., the son of Babb’s team owner, on the alltime win list.

The victory also provided Babb some redemption from the 2006 Summernationals event at the quarter-mile Quincy Raceway. He appeared headed to a convincing win in that event when a suspension problem knocked him from the lead late in the distance.

Erb’s runner-up finish might go down as being crucial in his pursuit of a first career Summernationals title. He entered the event with just a two-point lead over Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., but extended his edge to 32 points (1,410-1,378) after the 2004 Summernationals champion retired with mechanical trouble on lap 19 while running in the top five.

Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., finished third, followed by Steve Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin, Ill., and Eddie Kirchoff of Gilette, Wyo., who enjoyed one of his best outings in his first season as a Summernationals fulltimer.

Summernationals title contender Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., joined O’Neal as an early retiree, dropping out with two laps remaining. He was credited with a 16th-place finish – one spot ahead of O’Neal – and fell 90 points behind Erb.

Thirty dirt Late Models entered the event, which had its start delayed by a late-afternoon shower.

Babb was the fastest in the group qualifying session with a lap of 13.381 seconds.

Heat winners were Babb, Sheppard and Marlar, and Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., captured the B-Main.

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals A-Main Finish (40 laps):

1. Shannon Babb

2. Dennis Erb Jr.

3. Brady Smith

4. Steve Sheppard Jr.

5. Eddie Kirchoff

6. Wes Steidinger

7. Mark Burgtorf

8. A.J. Diemel

9. Kevin Weaver

10. Jeep VanWormer

11. Ed Dixon

12. Jason Feger

13. Jason McBride

14. Rusty Griffaw

15. Bryan Collins

16. Mike Marlar

17. Don O’Neal

18. Brandon Sheppard

19. Keith Pratt

20. Rickey Frankel

21. Terry Gallaher

DNQ: Russ Schoonover, Brian Kenning, Fred Remley, Russ Adams, Scott Dedwylder, Kevin Tomlinson, Rob Toland, Chris Smyser, Justin Reed

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Points Standins (after 21 events):

1. Dennis Erb Jr. 1,410

2. Don O’Neal 1,378

3. Mike Marlar 1,320

4. Wes Steidinger 1,310

5. Jeep VanWormer 1,244

6. Steve Sheppard Jr. 1,234

7. Eddie Kirchoff 946

8. Kevin Weaver 916

9. Rodney Melvin 866

10. Jason Feger 864

11. Randy Korte 826

12. A.J. Diemel 770

12. Billy Moyer 770

14. Terry Casey 686

15. Shannon Babb 589

16. Jordan Bland 342

17. Ryan Dauber 339

18. Greg Johnson 314

19. Rusty Schlenk 313

20. Jeff Taylor 275

You May Also Like

Late Models

Bob Memmer had a love for Late Model racing and a specific vision for it. In 1984, he made it a reality. His vision...

Late Models

Part II of DIRTcar’s 40th season celebration story, detailing modern-era events, coming to May 19 1984. Ronald Reagan was running for U.S. presidential...

Factory Stocks

For DIRTcar Racing’s 40th anniversary season, drivers in every division will be getting a bigger slice of the cake at season’s end with the...

Late Models

DIRTcar Racing has reached an agreement with the Valvoline Iron Man Late Model Series to sanction all 24 events on its 2023 schedule. Participants...