Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Payne triumphant at Springfield Raceway

MARS DIRTcar SeriesSpringfield, MO (September 18, 2010) – Springfield, Missouri’s Jeremy Payne wins the Larry Phillips Memorial at Springfield Raceway. Co-sanctioned with the Lucas Oil MLRA, sixth-starting Payne was able to pass race leader and pole sitter Brad Looney of Republic, MO and hold off several close calls in the final laps of the race. Looney would finish second and Payne picks up his third feature win of the year with the MARS DIRTcar Series.

Al Purkey of Coffeyville, KS started fifth and finished third, Eric Turner of Springfield, MO finished fourth piloting a Terry Phillips back up car and Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, MO rounded out the top 5.

Jeremy Payne

Jeremy Payne - Ron Mitchell Photo

Last year’s Larry Phillips Memorial winner, Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO, was running in the top five before a broken axle would force him to the infield area and end his night. Justin Wells of Aurora, MO started thirteenth in the feature and quickly found himself racing in third, however a flat tire on lap 35 would force him to the tail of the field but he recovered for a seventh place finish.

Payne records his 10th career win with the MARS series.

A Feature Results (28 cars): 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Brad Looney 3) Al Purkey 4) Eric Turner 5) Brandon McCormick 6) Dave Eckrich 7) Justin Wells 8) Joe Kosiski 9) Brantlee Gotschall 10) Evan Hubert 11) Larry Jones 12) Justin Asplin 13) Leroy Johnson 14) Terry Phillips 15) Ken Essary 16) Chuck Comer 17) Jarrod Hilton 18) Dwight Niehoff 19) Dave Ware 20) Matt Johnson 21) Alan Vaughn 22) Darrell Mooneyham

Heat #1 Results: 1) Brad Looney 2) Jarrod Hilton 3) Dave Eckrich 4) Dave Ware 5) Jordan Holloway 6) John Driskill 7) DNS Alan Vaughn

Heat #2 Results: 1) Al Purkey 2) Terry Phillips 3) Justin Asplin 4) Justin Wells 5) Dwight Niehoff 6) Evan Hubert 7) Patrick Johnson

Heat #3 Results: 1) Matt Johnson 2) Brantlee Gotschall 3) Joe Kosiski 4) Ken Essary 5) Leroy Johnson 6) Jason Sivils 7) Darrell Mooneyham

Heat #4 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Eric Turner 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Chuck Comer 5) Rylan Long 6) Dustin Mooneyham 7) Larry Jones

B Feature #1 Transfers: 1) Dwight Niehoff 2) Dave Ware
B Feature #2 Transfers: 1) Evan Hubert 2) Chuck Comer

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series can be found at

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Model Recaps

On a restart with three laps to go, leading the Feature for the second time in three days, Brian Shirley could feel something was...


The hot tempers and hotter temperatures continue on the trail of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals this week with five races scheduled for Missouri-Illinois Week....


Winger with runner-up, digs into points gap Sometimes, a really good car, some quick reflexes and a pinch of good fortune is the recipe...


The young star is finding his confidence again on the Summer Nationals tour, one of the hardest things he said he’s ever done After...