Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Phillips takes 10th annual Tony Roper Memorial

MARS DIRTcar SeriesMonett, MO. (May 30, 2010) – Five time and defending MARS DIRTcar Series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO led all 35 laps from his outside pole starting position to claim his second win of the season and his 69th MARS DIRTcar Series win overall at Monett Speedway’s 10th annual Tony Roper Memorial. Phillips claimed the top prize of $3,000 for his efforts.

Current MARS point leader Eric Turner of Springfield, MO started 12th in the feature and wasted no time in making his way to the front. By lap 20, Turner had raced his way into the top 5 and by lap 27 he was second. However Phillips’s lead proved too great to overcome and Turner would settle for second place.

Jeremy Payne, also of Springfield, MO started fifth on the grid and ran in the top five for most of the race. Payne was able to get by Dewaine Hottinger of Russellville, AR for third on lap 14 and overtook Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, AR on lap 26 for second place, only to give up second to Turner on lap 27. Payne would finish third.

Racing for Joe Garrison in the GRT house car, Jack Sullivan started third and raced in the top 3 for most of the feature. Sullivan would finish fourth in the final rundown.

Tony Jackson Jr., of Lebanon, MO finished fifth piloting long-time MARS DIRTcar Series driver Brandon McCormick’s #42.

Five time MARS DIRTcar Series champion Bill Frye of Greenbriar, AR was racing in 6th when he would slow in turns three and four for what appeared to be a flat tire. Shane Essary of Aurora, MO was unable to slow down in time and would clip the rear of Frye’s car. The wreck would end the night for both drivers.

(1) Terry Phillips, (2) Eric Turner, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) Jack Sullivan, (5) Tony Jackson Jr., (6) Dewaine Hottinger, (7) Gary Christian, (8) Ken Essary, (9) Dustin Mooneyham, (10) Burl Woods, (11) Darrell Mooneyham, (12) Chris Morelock, (13) Don Cloyd, (14) John Driskill, (15) Justin Wells, (16) Ron Johnson, (17) Leroy Johnson, (18) Bill Frye, (19) Shane Essary, (20) Larry Jones, (21) Rylan Long, (22) Mason Oberkramer, (23) Daniel Jessen

Heat Race Winners: Jack Sullivan, Gary Christian, Dewaine Hottinger

Next up for the MARS DIRTcar Series: June 4-5, 2010 Great American Dirt Track, Jetmore KS $10,000 to win. June 6, 2010 Belleville High Banks, Belleville KS $5,000 to win. Both races are co-sanctioned with the O’Reilly NCRA.

You May Also Like

Late Models

FAIRBURY, IL – Leading the FALS Super Nationals Feature with less than 10 laps remaining, Bobby Pierce had a brief flashback to the final...

Late Models

FARMER CITY, IL – He’s won this year using the bottom lane and the middle, and now The Highside Hustler is right back to...

Late Models

FARMER CITY, IL – A single word can sum up Bobby Pierce’s performance Thursday night at Farmer City Raceway – dominant. Before the race’s...