Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP Modifieds

Poel Powers to UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Gator Qualifier Victory


Jacob  Poel

Jacob Poel

Michigan racer locks into Monday night’s $5,000-to-win Gator Championship

BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 16, 2013 – Jacob Poel made his first visit to the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment a memorable one by capturing the Gator Championship qualifier Saturday night at Volusia Speedway Park.

“We just swapped a motor out yesterday, after having one problem after another,” said Poel, of Spring Lake, Mich. “I ran third in the heat and I don’t know where we started in that feature but the car was just absolutely perfect. I don’t know really what else to say. It was an amazing feeling. I’m just glad to be able to come down here with all the people that have supported me and got me here.”

Poel and Matt Cooper, of McKenzie, Tenn., split leader Bryce Jewell of Madisonville, Ky., on lap 9 before trading the top spot the following two laps. Poel distanced himself after taking the lead from Cooper on lap 11 of the 20-lap main event. The win earned Poel a nice $700 paycheck and a spot in the redraw for Monday night’s Gator Championship, where he can start no worse than 10th.

“I’ve got my confidence and that’s all I need,” Poel said. “I didn’t need to win tonight, but I wanted to. I just needed something to give me confidence after the week we’ve had down here and I definitely got that tonight.”

Cooper finished second and was one of four other drivers who also earn a spot in Monday night’s redraw by finishing in the top five. Dirt late model standout Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., was third. Friday night’s winner and defending Gator Champion Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, N.C., finished fourth. Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas who won the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals opener in his first visit to Volusia Speedway Park on Tuesday night rounded out the top five.

Jewell, UNOH DIRTcar Nationals point leader Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., Jake Griffin of Quincy, Ill., Ty Dillon of Welcome, N.C., and Danny Schwartz of Ashmore, Ill., locked into inside rows six through ten for Monday night by finishing in the top 10 Saturday.

J.E. Stadler of Martins Ferry, Ohio, and Donovan Lodge of Moline, Ill., claimed Last Chance Showdown victories.

There were 42 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds on hand for the first of two Gator Qualifying nights of competition. Sunday night’s racing program will feature the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series as well as the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds Gator Championship Qualifying Night Two.

For more information, go to . Follow the event on Twitter @DIRTcarNats and on Facebook at

A-Main (20 Laps) – 1. Jacob Poel ($700); 2. Matt Cooper; 3. Wendell Wallace; 4. Nick Hoffman; 5. Rodney Sanders; 6. Bryce Jewell; 7. Kyle Bronson; 8. Jake Griffin; 9. Ty Dillon; 10. Danny Schwartz; 11. David Mielke; 12. Garrett Stewart; 13. Donovan Lodge; 14. Troy Giralmo; 15. Jonathan Taylor; 16. Dave Wietholder; 17. J E Stalder; 18. Tyler Nicely; 19. Kyle Strickler; 20. Tyler Carpenter; 21. Jeff Thomas; 22. Corey Seckerson; 23. Levi Kissinger; 24. Brian Ruhlman.

Qualifying 1: 1. Rodney Sanders; 2. Tyler Nicely; 3. Bryce Jewell; 4. Garrett Stewart; 5. Shon Flanary; 6. J E Stalder; 7. Jake Griffin; 8. Rob Underwood; 9. Kevin Gummere; 10. Nathan Seale; 11. Masen Big Eagle;

Qualifying 2: 1. Ty Dillon; 2. Matt Cooper; 3. Dave Wietholder; 4. Kyle Strickler; 5. Joey Galloway; 6. Jacob Poel; 7. Shaun Daugharty; 8. J.R. Mason; 9. Troy Giralmo; 10. Nick Kurtz; 11. James Smith; ;

Qualifying 3: 1. Nick Hoffman; 2. David Mielke; 3. Brian Ruhlman; 4. Paul Miles; 5. Wendell Wallace; 6. Corey Seckerson; 7. Bryan Barber; 8. Scotty Kincaid; 9. Todd Sherman; 10. Larry Burkins;

Qualifying 4: 1. Kyle Bronson; 2. Levi Kissinger; 3. Tyler Carpenter; 4. Jeff Thomas; 5. Danny Schwartz; 6. Brendan Gaughan; 7. Donovan Lodge; 8. Tony Anderson; 9. Jonathan Taylor; 10. Jim Zimmer.

Heat 1: 1. Bryce Jewell; 2. Rodney Sanders; 3. Garrett Stewart; 4. Tyler Nicely; 5. Jake Griffin; 6. J E Stalder; 7. Rob Underwood; 8. Kevin Gummere; 9. Masen Big Eagle; 10. Shon Flanary; DNS. Nathan Seale.

Heat 2: 1. Ty Dillon; 2. Kyle Strickler; 3. Jacob Poel; 4. Matt Cooper; 5. Dave Wietholder; 6. Joey Galloway; 7. Troy Giralmo; 8. Nick Kurtz; 9. James Smith; 10. Shaun Daugharty; 11. J.R. Mason.

Heat 3: 1. Brian Ruhlman; 2. Nick Hoffman; 3. Corey Seckerson; 4. Wendell Wallace; 5. David Mielke; 6. Bryan Barber; 7. Scotty Kincaid; 8. Todd Sherman; 9. Larry Burkins; 10. Paul Miles.

Heat 4: 1. Tyler Carpenter; 2. Kyle Bronson; 3. Levi Kissinger; 4. Danny Schwartz; 5. Jeff Thomas; 6. Donovan Lodge; 7. Jonathan Taylor; 8. Brendan Gaughan; 9. Jim Zimmer; 10. Tony Anderson.

B-Main 1: 1. J E Stalder; 2. Troy Giralmo; 3. Rob Underwood; 4. Shon Flanary; 5. Nick Kurtz; 6. Masen Big Eagle; 7. James Smith; 8. Kevin Gummere; 9. Shaun Daugharty; 10. Joey Galloway; DNS. Nathan Seale; DNS. J.R. Mason.

B-Main 2: 1. Donovan Lodge; 2. Jonathan Taylor; 3. Scotty Kincaid; 4. Jim Zimmer; 5. Brendan Gaughan; 6. Todd Sherman; 7. Paul Miles; 8. Tony Anderson; 9. Bryan Barber; 10. Larry Burkins.


The DIRTcar UMP Modified portion of the University of Northwestern Ohio DIRTcar Nationals by Summit Racing Equipment is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Summit Racing Equipment, Hoosier Racing Tires, Chevy Performance, University of Northwestern Ohio, Arizona Sports Shirts, Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Custom Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Cool Shirts, Dominator Race Products, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Fragola Performance Systems, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, Landrum Springs, Racing Electronics, Vicci, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignition, QA1, Quarter Master, Schoenfeld, XS Power Racing Batteries, VP Racing Fuels, and Wrisco Aluminum.

You May Also Like


Troutman finishes second from 21st, Hoffman ties David Reutimann for most event wins He hadn’t driven a DIRTcar UMP Modified in almost 14 months,...


Due to substantial rainfall throughout the week continuing into Friday morning, officials have postponed the Friday portion of the 10th annual Emil & Dale...

Factory Stocks

The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...


Hoffman returns, Dotson back in Longhorn house car, Winger and Zeigler represent Super Late Model invaders Every November, the Reutimann family and its historic...