Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

R.J. Conley Wins First Career DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Race at Brushcreek Motorsports Park

DIRTcar Summer Nationals PEEBLES, Ohio — July 17, 2013 — Pole-sitter R.J. Conley claimed his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” victory Wednesday night at Brushcreek Motorspoirts Park.

Conley, of Wheelersburg, Ohio, started on the inside of row one with Dustin Griffin on the outside. Conley pulled out to an early lead but relinquished it on a lap-17 restart to Jason Jameson, who had maneuvered his way to the front after starting in fifth. Jameson, who utilized the top groove to make his way to the front, stretched his lead over the rest of the field.

Jameson, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., dominated the next five laps and looked to be the car to beat, until his machine slowed on lap 23, letting Conley slip back in front. Conley then moved up the track and held off a late-race charge from Greg Johnson, who kept his car glued to the bottom and had a fender under Conley a few times but could never gather enough momentum to make a pass for the lead, letting Conley capture the $5,000 checkered flag.

“Jason definitely had us covered,” Conley said. “I kept thinking that outside would be good, but I was afraid to try it because I was leading and you never know what’s going on behind you. Once he jumped up there, I jumped up there and I thought ‘whew, no wonder he passed me.’”

Bobby Pierce shaved a few points off of Brandon Sheppard’s points lead after finishing third, one spot ahead of Sheppard. With two races remaining in the 2013 Hell Tour, Sheppard clings to a 43 point lead over Pierce with two events remaining.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard, and Zach Dohm rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included R.J. Conley, Bobby Pierce, and Dustin Griffin.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues in its final week of action on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park located on Attica, Ohio.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Brushcreek Motorsports Park; Peebles, Ohio; July 17, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. RJ Conley ($5,000), 2. Greg Johnson, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Zack Dohm, 6. Ben Adkins, 7. Rod Conley, 8. Dustin Griffin, 9. Tim Lance, 10. Steve Kester, 11. Jeff Arnold, 12. Mark Morrison, 13. Daniel Williams, 14. Todd Frank, 15. Jason Jameson, 16. Delmas Conley, 17. Rob Starkey, 18. Mike Meyers, 19. Chad Smith, 20. Dillion Huron, 21. Chris Garnes, 22. Ryan Markham.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 1563
2 32 Bobby Pierce 1520
3 18 Shannon Babb 1393
4 24 Ryan Unzicker 1282
5 20 Dustin Griffin 1098
6 77 Jason McBride 963
7 B12 Kevin Weaver 912
8 81 Randy Korte 906
9 11 Tyler Reddick 791
10 48 Tim Lance 781


2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date



Wed. June 12

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway

Wilmot, WI

Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway

Paducah, KY

Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO

Postponed/Rain(Aug. 17)


June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce


July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

Shannon Babb (2)

July 3

Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5

Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6

Highland Speedway

Highland, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8


Tues. July 9

Florence Speedway

Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10

Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN Cancelled (RAIN)
Thurs. July 11

Macon Speedway

Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12

Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL Bobby Pierce (3)
Sat. July 13

34 Raceway

Burlington, IA Bobby Pierce (4)
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL Shannon Babb (6)
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Brian Shirley
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park

Peebles, OH

R.J. Conley
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH

Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts,Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.

You May Also Like


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...


Charleston Speedway wins track of the year, Brad Denney wins Promoter of the year, Bob Memmer Award The final order of business for the...