Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Rusty Schlenk takes UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Kokomo Speedway!

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

DIRTcar Summer NationalsKokomo, IN – July 14, 2010 – DIRTcar Late Model National points leader Rusty Schlenk took on the top three contenders in the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Wednesday night at Kokomo Speedway and showed why he’s on top of the nationwide standings. Schlenk fought off an assault from Jason Feger, Dennis Erb Jr., and Shannon Babb to capture the 26th night of competition and earn the first victory of his career during the grueling month-long tour.

Schlenk, of Jackson, Mich., pocketed $5,000 for the victory and became the second driver in three nights to earn his first Summer Nationals victory after Ryan Unzicker won Monday night at Spoon River Speedway. He gained not only DIRTcar Summer Nationals points, but valuable points towards a potential National Late Model championship, as well. Feger, the current Summer Nationals points leader, is the defending national champion.

Defending Summer Nationals champion Erb finished second to regain ground on Feger in their battle for the Summer Nationals title. Babb rallied from an early spin and finished third ahead of Feger and Steve Casebolt.

The championship is on the line with only two nights remaining. The Summer Nationals tour invades Attica Raceway Park on Friday, July 16, and then concludes Saturday at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio. In total the Hell Tour has traveled more than 4,700 miles in the course of 28 nights. The trip from Kokomo, Ind., to Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio, will have drivers traveling over 210 miles east to the track which will serve as 27th race of the 2010 tour. The visit will mark the first time the Hell Tour will invade the 1/3 mile oval located on the Attica Fairgrounds.

First group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 14.079
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.268
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 14.464
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 14.612
Joe Janowski (6j), Columbus, Ind., 14.660
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 14.673
Michael Chilton (97), Harrodsburg, Ky., 14.831
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 16.835
Derek Cunningham (11s), Upland, Ind., 17.938

Second group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 14.055
Steve Casebolt (c9), Richmond, Ind., 14.439
Tyler Reddick (11r), Corning, Calif., 14.552
Ken Schrader (9), Concord, N.C., 15.006
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 15.152
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 15.222
J.R. Hotovy (13), Covert, Mich., 15.623
Chad Stapleton (32s), Edinburgh, Ind., 37.010
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., no time

Third group
Rusty Schlenk (91), Jackson, Mich., 14.332
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 14.585
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 14.720
Rick Delong (3), Whitehouse, Ohio, 14.722
Bill Lewis (26), Pennville, Ind., 14.753
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 14.795
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 15.525
Bryant Dickinson (5*), Ionia, Mich., 16.219

Heat 1:
Jason Feger, Jack Sullivan, Dennis Erb Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Michael Chilton, Joe Janowski, Frank Heckenast Jr., Derek Cunningham, Jim Moon

Heat 2:
Steve Casebolt, Tyler Reddick, Jeep Van Wormer, Ken Schrader, Donny Walden, Brandon Thirlby, J.R. Hotovy, Chad Stapleton, Brandon Sheppard

Heat 3:
Rusty Schlenk, Shannon Babb, Jason McBride, Doug Drown, Craig Vosbergen, Bryant Dickinson, Rick Delong, Bill Lewis

Joe Janowski, Frank Heckenast Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Brandon Thirlby, J.R. Hotovy, Jim Moon, Bryant Dickinson, Derek Cunningham, Chad Stapleton

(1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Dennis Erb Jr., (3) Shannon Babb, (4) Jason Feger, (5) Steve Casebolt, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Jason McBride, (8) Tyler Reddick, (9) Ryan Unzicker, (10) Frank Heckenast Jr., (11) Brandon Sheppard, (12) Michael Chilton, (13) Ken Schrader, (14) Brandon Thirlby, (15) J.R. Hotovy, (16) Donny Walden, (17) Joe Janowski, (18) Craig Vosbergen, (19) Jeep Van Wormer, (20) Doug Drown, (21) Jim Moon

You May Also Like

Late Models

Bob Memmer had a love for Late Model racing and a specific vision for it. In 1984, he made it a reality. His vision...

Late Models

Part II of DIRTcar’s 40th season celebration story, detailing modern-era events, coming to May 19 1984. Ronald Reagan was running for U.S. presidential...

Factory Stocks

For DIRTcar Racing’s 40th anniversary season, drivers in every division will be getting a bigger slice of the cake at season’s end with the...

Late Models

DIRTcar Racing has reached an agreement with the Valvoline Iron Man Late Model Series to sanction all 24 events on its 2023 schedule. Participants...