Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Ryan Unzicker claims UMP Summer Nationals win at Wilmot Speedway!

Wilmot, Wis. – June 17, 2012 – It always pays to lead the last lap.

Ryan Unzicker knows that for a fact after making a pass on Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., for the lead on lap 39 of 40 Sunday night to capture his first Hell Tour win of 2012 worth $5,000.

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Unzicker, the defending DIRTcar Late Model National Champion started seventh and meticulously worked his way to the front setting himself up for a three way battle with Wallace and Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill. Wallace and Unzicker would driver under then leader Sheppard and duel over the final two laps with Unzicker taking the win at the line by a nose. Wallace would settle for the runner up spot after leading during multiple points throughout the main event. Defending Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., would finish third. Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, and Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., would round out the top five.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

The tour will take Monday off, and return to action Tuesday night at Spoon River Speedway in Banner, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Wilmot Raceway; Wilmot, Wis.; June 17, 2012 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Ryan Unzicker ($5,000), 2. Wendell Wallace, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Brian Birkhofer, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Russ Scheffler, 8. Brandon Sheppard, 9. Jason Feger, 10. Scott Schmitt, 11. Mike Spatola, 12. Billy Moyer Jr., 13. Dennis Erb Jr., 14. Jon Henry, 15. Bill Rezutek, 16. Nick Bartels, 17. Jerry Lierly, 18. Chris Carlson, 19. Matt Furman, 20. Rich Bell, 21. Jason McBride, 22. Bret Sievert. Fast qualifiers (among 31 cars): Pierce, Babb,Wallace, Birkhofer. Heat race winners: Pierce, Sheppard, Wallace, Birkhofer. C-main winner: Sievert. Provisional starters: Moyer, Spatola, McBride, Carlson.

2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Billy Moyer Jr. (49)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Shannon Babb(45)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (37)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (32)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Ryan Unzicker (31)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN


Florence Speedway

Union, KY


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH



The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum.

You May Also Like


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...

Late Models

A stretch of six races in six days through three different states is set to commence on the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals as...


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...