Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Shannon Babb takes UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Fairbury Speedway!

DIRTcar Summer NationalsFairbury, IL – July 10, 2010 – Shannon Babb powered his way to a $10,000 victory on Saturday night at Fairbury American Legion Speedway, tightening the overall DIRTcar Summer Nationals standings entering the final week of Hell Tour action.

While Babb was trying to hold off the field on the 22nd night of the Hell Tour, series leader Dennis Erb Jr. had a right rear tire go down late in the feature, dropping him to 14th. It was also costly in his quest for a fourth consecutive DIRTcar Summer Nationals crown. Jason Feger capitalized on Erb’s misfortune and drove to a fourth-place finish. Feger now has a slim 10-point lead in the Summer Nationals standings after trailing Erb by 13 points entering Fairbury.
Matt Miller was second on Saturday night, followed by Ryan Unzicker, Feger and Jeep Van Wormer.

Up next for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour is a visit to Quincy Raceways on Sunday July 11, 2010. In total the Hell Tour has traveled over 4,100 miles in the course of 25 nights. The trip from Fairbury, Ill., to Quincy Raceways in Quincy, Ill., will have drivers traveling over 210 miles west to the track, where feature winner Babb won in 2009.

Events at Spoon River Speedway (Monday), Peoria Speedway (Tuesday), Kokomo Speedway (Wednesday), Attica Raceway Park (Friday) and Oakshade Raceway (Saturday) are also left to decide who will be the 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour champion.

First group
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.02
Daren Friedman (89), Forrest, Ill., 13.11
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 13.31
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 13.33
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 13.34
Derek Chandler (35), Pontiac, Ill., 13.47
Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 13.57
Jimmy Dehm (99j), Lexington, Ill., 14.05
Mike Glynn (K9), La Salle, Ill., 14.06
Snooky Dehm (00), Chatsworth, Ill., 14.51
Lisa Shickel (15s), Bloomington, Ill., 15.16

Second group
Bob Freeburg (71), Metamora, Ill., 13.42
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.42
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 13.44
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 13.72
Steve Lance Jr. (25), Cuba, Ill., 13.73
Jay Morris (77x), Pittwood, Ill., 13.87
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 14.04
Aaron Ricketts (95), Fairbury, Ill., 14.06
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 14.11
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 14.52

Third group
Scott Bull (83), Fairbury, Ill., 13.53
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.55
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 13.56
Steve Thorsten (7t), Chebanse, Ill., 13.59
Joe Harlan (Z), El Paso, Ill., 13.84
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 14.19
Jay Sparks (7s), Metamora, Ill., 14.19
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 14.27
Brandon Freeburg (7f), Metamora, Ill., 14.70
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 21.45

Fourth group
Matt Miller (7), Waterville, Ohio, 13.49
Eric Smith (9), Bloomington, Ill., 13.67
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.86
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 13.89
Mike Glasscock (30), LeRoy, Ill., 14.10
Chris Dick (22), Deland, Ill., 14.24
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 14.29
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 14.46
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 14.62
Eric Vaughan (36), Fairbury, Ill., 15.06

Heat 1:
Ryan Unzicker, Kevin Weaver, Mike Glynn, Daren Friedman, Derek Chandler, Frank Heckenast Jr., Lisa Shickel, Jimmy Dehm, Dillan White, Snooky Dehm, Rodney Melvin

Heat 2:
Shannon Babb, Steve Lance Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Jay Morris, Brandon Sheppard, Donny Walden, Jim Moon, Brian Shirley, Aaron Ricketts, Bob Freeburg

Heat 3:
Doug Drown, Scott Bull, Jack Sullivan, Joe Harlan, Brandon Thirlby, Mark Burgtorf, Brandon Freeburg, Jay Sparks, Steve Thorsten, Craig Vosbergen

Heat 4:
Matt Miller, Dennis Erb Jr., Jeep Van Wormer, Jason Feger, Eric Smith, Jason McBride, Chris Dick, Eric Vaughan, Richie Hedrick

Brandon Sheppard, Mark Burgtorf, Eric Smith, Frank Heckenast Jr., Derek Chandler, Donny Walden, Jason McBride, Lisa Shickel, Jimmy Dehm, Eric Vaughn, Brandon Freeburg, Brandon Thirlby, Jim Moon, Chris Dick, Brian Shirley, Aaron Ricketts

(1) Shannon Babb, (2) Matt Miller, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Jason Feger, (5) Jeep Van Wormer, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Billy Moyer Jr., (8) Kevin Weaver, (9) Steve Lance Jr., (10) Scott Bull, (11) Mark Burgtorf, (12) Jay Morris, (13) Daren Friedman, (14) Dennis Erb Jr., (15) Aaron Ricketts, (16) Joe Harlan, (17) Doug Drown, (18) Brandon Sheppard, (19) Frank Heckenast Jr., (20) Mike Glynn, (21) Brian Shirley

You May Also Like

Late Models

Bob Memmer had a love for Late Model racing and a specific vision for it. In 1984, he made it a reality. His vision...

Late Models

Part II of DIRTcar’s 40th season celebration story, detailing modern-era events, coming to May 19 1984. Ronald Reagan was running for U.S. presidential...

Factory Stocks

For DIRTcar Racing’s 40th anniversary season, drivers in every division will be getting a bigger slice of the cake at season’s end with the...

Late Models

DIRTcar Racing has reached an agreement with the Valvoline Iron Man Late Model Series to sanction all 24 events on its 2023 schedule. Participants...