Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Sheppard Becomes Youngest Winner on Summer Nationals Tour with Lincoln Win

Brandon Sheppard

Brandon Sheppard

LINCOLN, Ill. – July 3, 2011 – Brandon Sheppard finally achieved his goal of winning a DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour event, taking the checkered flag Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., used a lap three restart to claim the lead from fellow front row starter Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill. He then held off current ‘Hell Tour’ point leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., over the last half of the event to claim the win worth $5,000. The victory is the 18-year-old driver’s first after following the tour full-time since the 2009 season. Babb settled for second ahead of Greenbriar, Ark., driver Jack Sullivan who earned his second top five finish on the Summer Nationals Tour. Waterville, Ohio driver Matt Miller would cross the line fourth one spot in front of Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, Mich.


Babb, once again extended his points lead after his second place finish at Lincoln. Second in points, Lawrenceburg, Ind., driver Scott James finished 9 th, which puts him unofficially 125 points behind Babb. Defending ‘Hell Tour’ champ Jason Feger finished 16th after tire issues relegated him to the rear twice.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Monday, July 4 at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Lincoln Speedway; Lincoln, Ill.; July 3, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Brandon Sheppard ($5,000), 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Jack Sullivan, 4. Matt Miller, 5. Jeep Van Wormer, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Billy Drake, 8. Bobby Pierce, 9. Scott James, 10. Dillan White, 11. Brian Shirley, 12. Ryan Unzicker, 13. Roger Brickler, 14. Mike Spatola, 15. Jason Oldfield, 16. Jason Feger, 17. Wes Steidinger, 18. Brian Diveley, 19. Donny Walden, 20. Eric Smith, 21. Rusty Schlenk, 22. Kevin Weaver. Fast qualifiers: (among 35 cars): Babb, Feger, Drake, Miller. Heat race winners: Spatola, Pierce, Sheppard, Miller. B-Main winner: Dively. Provisional starters: Erb, Schlenk, Smith, White.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill.
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill.
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.

You May Also Like


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...


Charleston Speedway wins track of the year, Brad Denney wins Promoter of the year, Bob Memmer Award The final order of business for the...


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...

DIRTcar Fall Nationals

Schwartz clinches first national title, Harrison dedicates win to late announcer Rick Eshelman The 39th season of weekly DIRTcar Racing is officially in the...