Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Sheppard Goes Back-to-Back at Clayhill Motorsports, Sweeps DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tennessee Events


Brandon Sheppard

ATWOOD, Tenn. – June 27, 2013 – Brandon Sheppard, with a little bit of good luck, scored his fourth victory of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Thursday night when leader Shannon Babb’s car broke with two laps remaining at Clayhill Motorsports.

A 30-car field took to the 3/8-mile oval, but it was Sheppard, the Wednesday night winner at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway, who pulled out his broom and swept the “Hell Tour” events held in Tennessee in 2013.

Sheppard sat on the pole and led the race’s opening 18 laps before surrendering the lead to Babb, who then dominated the next 20 laps and looked as if he was going to cruise to his second win of the season. However, Babb’s car quit on him with two laps remaining and Sheppard slipped by Babb and held off Dennis Erb Jr. to secure the $5,000 checkered flag for the second consecutive year at Clayhill Motorsports.

“I owe this to (Babb), if it wasn’t for him breaking I would’ve ran second,” said Sheppard, who led 20 of the race’s 40 laps. “I hate it for Shannon because he’s had some bad luck here lately. But we’ll take them however we can get it.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Ryan Unzicker, Bobby Pierce and Jack Sullivan rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Jason Riggs, Erb and Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Friday night at Paducah International Raceway located in Paducah, Ky.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clayhill Motorsports Park; Atwood, Tenn.: June 27, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1.Brandon Sheppard ($5,000), 2.Dennis Erb, Jr, 3.Ryan Unzicker, 4.Bobby Pierce, 5.Jack Sullivan, 6.Tyler Reddick, 7.Terry English, 8.Eric Cooley, 9.Randy Korte, 10.Tanner English, 11.Tim Lance, 12.Jason McBride, 13.Dustin Griffin, 14.Chris Shelton, 15.Shannon Babb, 16.Kevin Weaver, 17.Billy Moyer, 18.Todd Frank, 19.Thomas Dacus, 20.Kent Robinson, 21.Jason Riggs, 22.Timothy Culp.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Championship Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 695
2 32 Bobby Pierce 573
3 24 Ryan Unzicker 573
4 18 Shannon Babb 556
5 81 Randy Korte 485
6 20 Dustin Griffin 468
7 77 Jason McBride 467
8 11 Tyler Reddick 454
9 B12 Kevin Weaver 428
10 48 Tim Lance 363

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

You May Also Like


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...


World Racing Group expanded its executive team by adding Charlie Mellilo as its Chief Media and Marketing Officer. Most recently, Charlie led Global Client...


Nintendo Switch version coming to retail and digital October 3; new tracks, Xtreme Outlaws Midget Series, and additional drivers iRacing and Monster Games are...


Tyler Nicely has gone back-to-back with the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals. Nicely, 27, of Owensboro, KY, put on a clinic Friday night...