Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Southwest DIRTcar Late Model Series Gets Rolling Again Saturday Night (Aug. 16) With Visit To Arizona’s Prescott Valley Raceway

DIRTcar Southwest Late Model SeriesPrescott Valley, AZ — It’s time for the stars of the Southwest DIRTcar Late Model Series to get back down to the business.

Following a month-and-a-half hiatus, the tour returns to action this Saturday night (Aug. 16) with a visit to Prescott Valley Raceway.

Saturday’s 25-lap, $1,000-to-win A-Main will mark the SWDLMS’s first 2008 appearance at Prescott Valley, one of five tracks scheduled to host a tour event this season.

Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., will lead the SWDLMS to the Northern Arizona track, a three-eighths-mile oval that sits on the Yavapai County Fairgrounds. The tour’s four-time and alltime winningest driver has won six of eight series events this season and holds a commanding 136-point lead (458-322) over Mark Fowler of Peoria, Ariz.

Parker, who saw his six-race win streak snapped when DIRTcar Modified standout Anthony Madrid of Phoenix, Ariz., scored an emotional triumph in the last SWDLMS event on June 28 at Manzanita Speedway in Phoenix, has enjoyed success at Prescott Valley in the past. He was victorious in the last tour event held at the track, on Sept. 15, 2007.

Fowler, who sits second in the points standings but is still searching for his first win of 2008, has also reached Victory Lane in SWDLMS competition at Prescott Valley. His checkered flag came on Aug. 12, 2006.

Mike Tahtinen of Case Grande, Ariz., is third in the points standings. He’s closely followed by Joey Moriarty of Phoenix and Tommy Hussak III of Picacho, Ariz.

Prescott Valley Raceway’s pit gates are scheduled to open at 5 p.m. and the grandstand gates will be unlocked at 6 p.m. on Saturday. Racing is scheduled to being at 7:30 p.m.

General admission is $15, with children 8-12 admitted for $7 and kids 7-and-under free of charge.

For more information, visit or call 928-899-5409.

Additional info on all of the series, sanctioning and member tracks of DIRTcar Racing is available by logging on to

Southwest DIRTcar Late Model Series Points Standings (as of June 28):

1. Lonnie Parker Jr. 458
2. Mark Fowler 322
3. Mike Tahtinen 294
4. Joey Moriarty 277
5. Tommy Hussak III 269
6. Jerry Fincher 248
7. Lonnie Parker Sr. 218
8. Brad Williams 218
9. Randy Carder 215
10. Randy Anderson 175

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Though it was the last race on the schedule, the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals season finale at Wayne County Speedway was a night...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Two visits to Oakshade Raceway for Ashton Winger, two Feature wins. The 23-year-old from Senoia, GA, led the final 36 laps of the 25th...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

One trip to Butler Motor Speedway, one win for Ryan Unzicker. The 2011 DIRTcar Late Model national champion from El Paso, IL, grabbed the...

Late Models

Four-straight weeks of Late Model and UMP Modified racing have brought the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour down to its final week...