Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Late Models

Terry Phillips takes 4-State Championships

MARS DIRTcar SeriesMonett, MO (September 5, 2010) – Picking up his ninth MARS DIRTcar Series feature win of the season, Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO cruised to victory at Monett Speedway for the 39th Annual 4-State Dirt Track Championships.

Phillips started on the front row, outside of pole sitter John Anderson of Omaha, NE. Anderson led the first lap, but Phillips came roaring back and took control of the race on lap two. Phillips would lead the rest of the way and claim his eighth 4-State Dirt Track Championship title. Anderson finished second.

Republic, Missouri’s Brad Looney started sixth and finished third. Justin Wells of Aurora, MO started fifth and finished fourth while Jeremy Payne of Springfield, MO rounded out the top five.

Phillips records his 76th career win with the MARS series.

Next up for the MARS DIRTcar Series will be with the MLRA on September 18th at the Springfield Raceway in Springfield, MO.

A Feature Results (38 cars): 1) Terry Phillips 2) John Anderson 3) Brad Looney 4) Justin Wells 5) Jeremy Payne 6) Ken Essary 7) Randy Zimmerman 8) Al Purkey
9) Tony Jackson Jr. 10) Rex Merritt 11) Eric Turner 12) Jesse Stovall 13) Darrell Mooneyham 14) Darrin Barton 15) Gary Christian 16) Leroy Johnson 17) Shane Essary 18) Brandon McCormick 19) Leslie Essary 20) Jarrod Hilton 21) Scott Fry 22) John Driskill

Heat #1 Results: 1) Shane Essary 2) Randy Zimmerman 3) Jarrod Hilton 4) Darrin Barton 5) Patrick Johnson 6) John Farmer 7) Dustin Mooneyham 8) Steve Johnson

Heat #2 Results: 1) John Anderson 2) Al Purkey 3) Darrell Mooneyham 4) Leslie Essary 5) Raymond Merrill 6) Leroy Johnson 7) Dwight Niehoff 8) Gary Christian

Heat #3 Results: 1) Ken Essary 2) Tony Jackson Jr. 3) Rex Merritt 4) Jesse Stovall 5) Dave Ware 6) Billy Koons Jr. 7) Colton Dunlap 8) Jeremy Mane

Heat #4 Results: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Brad Looney 3) John Driskill 4) Brandon McCormick 5) Chuck Comer 6) Bill Koons 7) DNS Shannon Phillips

Heat #5 Results: 1) Justin Wells 2) Jeremy Payne 3) Eric Turner 4) Scott Fry 5) Phil Edmondson 6) Clint Hatley 7) Jason Sivils

B Feature #1 Transfers: 1) Leslie Essary 2) Brandon McCormick

B Feature #2 Transfers: 1) Darrin Barton 2) Scott Fry

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series and be found at

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Model Recaps

On a restart with three laps to go, leading the Feature for the second time in three days, Brian Shirley could feel something was...


The hot tempers and hotter temperatures continue on the trail of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals this week with five races scheduled for Missouri-Illinois Week....


Winger with runner-up, digs into points gap Sometimes, a really good car, some quick reflexes and a pinch of good fortune is the recipe...


The young star is finding his confidence again on the Summer Nationals tour, one of the hardest things he said he’s ever done After...