Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


TROPHY TIME: 36th DIRTcar Banquet Recognizes Champions, Special Award Winners

Farmer City wins Track of the Year, Track Enterprises claims Promoter of the Year

The year-end championship banquet for the 2021 DIRTcar Racing season is in the books, and the stars came out to help celebrate.

An evening of good friends, family, food and fun culminated with the recognition of each of the national champions and some very special award winners. Emcee Rick Eshelman led in procession of the ceremony, first calling regional and national points fund check winners to the stage before diving into the champions and special awards.

2021 DIRTcar National Champions
Late Model – Bobby Pierce
UMP Modified – Nick Hoffman
Pro Late Model – Jose Parga
Pro Modified – Owen Steinkoenig
UMP Sportsman – Wes McClara
Stock Car – Nick Macklin
Factory Stock – Trevor Isaak
Sport Compact – Joshua Hawkins

Each year, two of the most prestigious awards are presented to both a DIRTcar-sanctioned track and promoter that demonstrate outstanding abilities to provide top-quality racing entertainment, elevate competitor participation and host special events that bring out the best in fan attendance.

In a year that needed the support of DIRTcar tracks, their staff and officials more than ever, two of DIRTcar’s most recognizable entities were successful in each of those areas last season and came to the stage to have their achievements honored.

Adam Mackey, of Track Enterprises, accepts the award for Promoter of the Year.

For their efforts in operating Lincoln Speedway on Friday nights and Macon Speedway every Saturday night throughout the season, Track Enterprises, Inc. was presented with the 2021 DIRTcar Promoter of the Year Award. The group, headed by well-known racing promoter Bob Sargeant, also hosted several UMP Modified shows last season at the famed half-mile Terre Haute Action Track.

Adam Mackey came to the stage and accepted the award on Track Enterprises’ behalf and was thrilled to receive the news of the company’s achievement.

“Hosting in upwards of 60 DIRTcar events, it’s a privilege to be able to do that,” Mackey said. “Joining the likes of each of the previous Promoter of the Year Award winners means a lot with all of the events that we do and all the successes that we’ve had.”

Next, the staff of Farmer City Raceway was called to the stage to receive their trophy as 2021 DIRTcar Track of the Year. Noted for the exciting, multi-groove, multi-division racing in their Friday Night Lights weekly program, the quarter-mile bullring hosted several special DIRTcar events last season and provided fans with some memorable finishes.

The Farmer City crew with their Track of the Year trophy (via Twitter @FarmerCityRacin)

Track announcer Tyson Graves spoke about what it meant to the FCR management and staff to have the success that they did in 2021, and shared in the surprise with the rest of the team when they were called onstage.

“The guys here at Farmer City put their heart and soul into this place, week-in and week-out,” he said. “From track prep, to mowing the grass and dealing with the weather they get dealt, Farmer City had spectacular racing week-in and week-out and it is awesome to be noticed and awarded for the efforts.”

The entire DIRTcar Racing family would like to thank each of the drivers, tracks, promoters, sponsors, officials and crews that contributed to making the 2021 season another great success. Here’s to an even greater 2022!

Special Award Winners:

• Promoter of the Year – Track Enterprises
• Track of the Year – Farmer City Raceway
• Bob Memmer Award – Bill Martens

Late Model Special Awards:

• Rookie of the Year – Ashton Winger
• Sportsman of the Year – Rich Bell
• Engine Builder of the Year – Clements Racing Engines (44 wins)
• Chassis Builder of the Year – Rocket Chassis (115 wins)
• Engine National Champion – Vic Hill Race Engines
• Chassis National Champion – Bob Pierce Race Cars

UMP Modified Special Awards:

• Mechanic of the Year – Billy Whiteman
• Sportsman of the Year – Rick Conoyer
• Engine Builder of the Year – Mullins Race Engines (231 wins)
• Chassis Builder of the Year – Elite Chassis (142 wins)
• Engine National Champion – NASCAR Technical Institute
• Chassis National Champion – Elite Chassis

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Fall Nationals

Schwartz clinches first national title, Harrison dedicates win to late announcer Rick Eshelman The 39th season of weekly DIRTcar Racing is officially in the...

DIRTcar Fall Nationals

Leka wins wild Stock Car race, Pro Modified points stays tight after Taylor beats Schwartz When a loaded field of 117 race cars fill...

DIRTcar Fall Nationals

Twenty-seventh annual event begins racing Friday with four different divisions The champions and championship contenders have officially arrived at Lincoln Speedway for the 27th...

DIRTcar Fall Nationals

Twenty-six weeks of regular season racing, and it all comes down to this. The 27th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals at Lincoln (IL) Speedway caps...

Copyright © 2023 World Racing Group | All Rights Reserved