Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Advance Auto Parts & Pullen’s Truck Center Host SDW Modified Qualifiers

2008 Super DIRTweek XXXVIIWeedsport, NYSeptember 26, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

Fast and furious open-wheel qualifying heat races highlight the Friday program during Super DIRT Week XXXVII, Oct. 7-12, at the New York State Fairgrounds.

The October 10 agenda leads off at 12noon with 100 laps of open-wheel action around the Syracuse Mile as Advance Auto Parts presents Triple 20s for DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds and Pullen’s Truck Center presents Twin 20s for DIRTcar 358-Modifieds. DIRTcar Sportsman Modified time trials follow immediately afterwards before fans and race teams move west for their choice of short-track shows staged at both Cayuga County Fair Speedway in Weedsport and Rolling Wheels Raceway Park in Elbridge.

Both Big-Block and 358-Modified Integra Shocks Time Trials on Thursday once again lock in the six fastest cars for the front three rows of their respective main event, the Rite Aid 200 on Sunday and 150-lap Small-Block Championship on Saturday.

The top-10 non-qualified cars from each of the Advance Auto Parts Modified Triple 20s and Pullen’s Truck Center 358-Modified Twin 20s will add 30 more cars to each feature race grid with provisional starters from the overall Hoosier Tire Mr. DIRTcar point standings helping fill out the field. Time trial results will be used to determine the starting line-up for each 20-lapper in both divisions.

While a driver may practice with up to two different cars, multi-car Big-Block teams are eligible to use only one car for Integra Shocks Time Trials on Thursday and just one in a Triple 20 on Friday.

The current heat race format originated at Super DIRT Week in 1989 to mirror the weekly qualifying procedure normally used at short-tracks throughout the summer months. The biggest difference at Syracuse is that each heat race offers a full purse with big-block winners earning $4,000 and 358 victors pocketing $1,000.

Past Super DIRT Week Qualifying Heat Race Winners
*denotes title event champion.
2007: MOD-Pat Ward, Billy Decker, Ronnie Johnson / SB-Pete Bicknell, Willy Decker
2006: MOD-Tim Fuller, Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps / SB-Pat Ward, Pete Bicknell
2005: MOD-*Billy Decker, Danny Johnson, Brett Hearn / SB-Brett Hearn, *Tim Fuller
2004: MOD-Billy Decker, Gary Tomkins, Matt Sheppard / SB-Brett Hearn, Andy Bachetti
2003: MOD-Vic Coffey, Brett Hearn, Danny Johnson / SB-Brett Hearn, *Matt Sheppard
2002: MOD-Brett Hearn, Chuck Bower, Steve Poirier / SB-Brett Hearn, *Billy Decker
2001: MOD-Richie Tobias, Brett Hearn, *Billy Decker / SB-Todd Burley, Vic Coffey
2000: MOD-Brett Hearn, Steve Paine, *Billy Decker / SB-*Pete Bicknell, Steve Paine
1999: MOD-Kenny Brightbill, Brett Hearn, Billy Decker / SB-*Pete Bicknell, Brett Hearn
1998: MOD-Bobby Varin,*Billy Decker,Brett Hearn / SB-Kenny Brightbill, Bobby Hayes
1997: MOD-Joe Plazek, Jack Johnson, Brett Hearn / SB-Billy Decker, Brett Hearn
1996: MOD-Brett Hearn, Steve Paine, Brett Hearn
1995: MOD-*Brett Hearn, Bob McCreadie, Jack Johnson
1994: MOD-*Jimmy Horton, Dave Blaney, Danny Johnson
1993: MOD-Bob McCreadie, Billy Pauch, Dave Blaney
1992: MOD-Jimmy Horton, Bob McCreadie, Ricky Elliott
1991: MOD-*Brett Hearn, Joe Plazek, Billy Decker
1990: MOD-Bob McCreadie, Danny Johnson, *Brett Hearn
1989: MOD-Doug Hoffman, Jeff Heotzler, Danny Johnson

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win

358 Modifieds

For the first time in 2024, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series will roar to life this weekend at Fulton Speedway. The Highbank Holdup 60...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The chase for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series championship begins this weekend with one of the four Sportsman regions taking the green flag. The North...


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...