Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar NorthEast Circuit Boasts Record Rookie Crop

Motorsports Safety SystemsWeedsport, NYAugust 14, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

The state of DIRTcar Racing NorthEast is just fine. A quick glance at the stacked list of first-year drivers currently recognized as Motorsports Safety Systems/G-FORCE Rookie of the Year candidates offers ample justification as it confirms the biggest number ever.

“This is the most drivers ever participating in the rookie program, yet I still expect to hear from a few more as the end of the regular season gets closer,” stated DIRTcar NorthEast official points keeper Gary Spaid. “We have never had any formal registration procedure in place, however we can not process rookie points unless we’ve been properly notified by interested teams.”

For drivers wanting to join the list, the time is now to contact DIRTcar NE Headquarters and confirm their intention of contending for the annual Rookie of the Year award. A record number of drivers are already qualified for DIRTcar rookie status in the Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified and entry-level open-wheel Sportsman Modified divisions plus the full-fender UMP Pro Stock class.

Heading the list of 2008 DIRTcar rookie contenders already indicating their intentions of pursuing the first-year award are: Big-Block – Larry Wight, Michael Storms and Anthony Steiner; 358-Modified – Tommy Flannigan and Larry Wight; Sportsman – Jason Parkhurst, Luke Whitteker and Dave Marcuccilli; Pro Stock – Bruno Cyr.

Top ’07 rookie accolades were received by Mike Bowman (Big-Block), Eric Landry (358-Modified), Larry Wight (Sportsman) and Pro Stocker Jocelyn Roy at the season-ending DIRTcar ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet, this year scheduled for Saturday, November 15 at the plush Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona, New York.

A rookie in the Big-Block Modified division is any driver who has not competed in at least six (6) Big-Block features in a year. This includes running a 358 Modified car with the Big-Block division except at tracks classified as “merged” divisional speedways. A 358 Modified rookie is classified as any driver who has not competed in either six (6) Big-Block or 358 Modified events. The same rules apply to the Sportsman and Pro Stock divisions.

2008 Rookie of the Year award candidates must also hold a valid DIRTcar License to be eligible for Rookie of the Year points and awards. Rookie Points are determined by adding Home Track Bonus Points to actual points earned at all respective Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series or Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series races. Rookie drivers can also receive points just by attempting to qualify for a championship event.

Potential rookie candidates should notify Gary Spaid at 1571 Lehigh Station Road, Henrietta, NY 14467 as soon as possible to verify 2008 status.

The following are confirmed Rookies and are eligible for the overall DIRTcar NE Rookie of the Year Awards with a valid 2008 DIRTcar License.

Big-Block Modified Track(s)
Kyle Fink Tri-City
Eric Fisher Canandaigua, Cayuga County
Paul Guererri Canandaigua
Rob Hile Fulton
Erik Martin Lernerville
Brian Sadler Tri-City, Lernerville
Tony Steiner Cayuga County, Fulton
Michael Storms Orange County
Larry Wight Cayuga County

358-Modified Track(s)
Joe Banks Brockville
Clayton Benedict Mohawk, Cornwall
Tommy Flannigan Merrittville, Ransomville
Mitchell Jock Mohawk, Cornwall
Todd Kendrick Merrittville
Gage Morin Edelweiss, Cornwall
Darren Peters Merrittville, Ransomville
Jason Riddell Brockville
Andrew Sittler Merrittville, Ransomville
Marc Therrien Edelweiss, Cornwall
Nicholas Vaillant Edelweiss
Larry Wight Can Am
Derek Wutzke Merrittville
Jessica Zemken Brockville

Sportsman Modified Track(s)
Matt Billings Brockville. Cayuga County, Thunder Alley
Bill Clark Jr. Fulton, Cayuga County, Thunder Alley
Joe Cook Jr. Canandaigua
Greg Cool Canandaigua
Brian Copp Brockville, Can Am
Mike DeMallie Canandaigua
Jay Doerr Merrittville
Jim Evans Fulton, Cayuga County
Dylan Evoy Brockville, Thunder Alley
Darrell Faraway Merrittville, Ransomville
Mike Fowler Fulton
Peter Gordon Canandaigua, Ransomville
Erin Joyce Brockville
Dan Kapuscinski Thunder Alley
Kyle LaVare Canandaigua
Rob Lerch Canandaigua, Black Rock
A.J. Lewis Canandaigua
Ron MacAuley Merrittville
Dave Marcuccilli Cayuga County
Rod McDonald Brockville
Zeke McKeown Brockville, Thunder Alley, Can Am
Jason Parkhurst Fulton, Thunder Alley
Brandon Planck Cayuga County
Jessica Powers Brockville
Tim Sears Jr. Fulton
Matt Smith Cayuga County, Canandaigua
Derek Spellan Brockville
Adam Tricky Brockville
Roger Varacalli Brockville
Ryan Weese Merrittville, Humberstone
Ben Wheeler Cayuga County, Canandaigua
Luke Whitteker Brockville, Thunder Alley, Can Am

UMP Pro Stock Track
Richard Bertrand Drummond
Bruno Cyr Drummond
Steve Dagneault Drummond
Roger Hamilton Cornwall
Roland Hébert Drummond
Alex Houle Drummond
Francois Lecours Drummond
Daniel Lemieux Drummond
Normand “Max” Lemire Drummond
Stephane Lemire Drummond
Jocelyn Perreault Drummond
Jacques Robert Drummond
Russ Schroth Mohawk
Pierre Theriault Drummond
Michel Veillette Drummond
Corey Wheeler Cornwall

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly Championship Update: June 21-23 Another weekend of DIRTcar Northeast action is complete, with not many changes as most tracks racing...


As the summer continues through mid-June, there’s two new drivers at the top of the Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly Championship standings.  Peter Britten has...


With overnight rain in Fultonville, NY, DIRTcar Northeast and Glen Ridge Motorsports Park officials have postponed Sunday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock Series event. Officials are...


More than 30 firefighters and officials attended the event at Weedsport Speedway