Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Northeast Series Schedule Highlights May Race Date

Weedsport, NYApril 30, 2009 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing Northeast PR Director

May marks the second month of Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series competition in 2009 with the only extra-distance tour stop scheduled at Merrittville Speedway as part of the 358-Modified points trail.

With time trials, heat qualifying and one consolation round race already in the books before rain forced postponement on April 25, action returns to the popular Thorold, Ontario oval Monday, May 18 with a pair of last chance qualifiers leading into the 50-lap feature finale. Pete Bicknell and Robbie Krull topped a strong field of 55 Small-Block contenders running under the clock, while Merrittville mainstay Scott Wood, Krull, Bicknell, four-time Mr. DIRTcar Champion Pat O’Brien and defending Merrittville points king Chad Brachmann scored heat wins. ’08 Rookie of the Year Larry Wight copped the first of three consis as clouds began to open up.

Overall Mr. DIRTcar Champions will once again be determined by tabulating points earned in the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds and the Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series for 358-Modified, Sportsman and Pro Stock teams along with bonuses collected in each divisional DIRTcar Regional Racing Series. The track bonus formula is identical for all four touring classes with a driver’s best six feature finishes through Labor Day counted toward the overall Mr. DIRTcar crown.

To gain access to DIRTcar Racing Series headline stories during the upcoming season, log into and select ‘Series’ at the top then choose Mr. DIRTcar Series (#7) and hit ‘GO’ on right. Specific information about the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series can be found at Bookmark each selection for quick review at a later time.

Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series Schedule of Events: MAY
Mon-May 18 Merrittville Speedway/Thorold,ONT 358

DIRTcar Racing Northeast main office is located in Weedsport, New York on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds, home of the 2009 DIRTcar All-Star Weekend, July 17-19, featuring Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series events for Sportsman and Big-Block Modifieds in the richest short-track show of its kind in the nation — the $20,000-to-win Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series “DIRTcar All-Star 100” on Sunday, July 19.

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and VP Racing Fuels Promotional partners include Rite Aid Corporation, Dig Safely New York and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Ferris Industries, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks,, Racing Electronics, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Andrew Buff’s 2023 season will be significant in his racing career as he looks ahead to racing 358 Modifieds in 2024. The Latham, NY...


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...


The best drivers from around the northeast and beyond will gather in Oswego, NY for Super DIRT Week 51, Oct. 2-8. So far, nearly...


Season-long battles at tracks across the northeast have led to five new DIRTcar Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly champions. Marc Johnson (DIRTcar Big Block Modified),...