Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

2009 DIRTcar Northeast Rookie Registration Deadline Extended To July 1

Motorsports Safety SystemsWeedsport, NYJune 25, 2009 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing Northeast PR Director

The DIRTcar Racing Northeast Region continues to prosper on all fronts as a populated list of first-year drivers currently recognized as Motorsports Safety Systems/G-FORCE Rookie of the Year candidates provides substantial evidence.

“We’ve experienced a great influx lately with our rookie program, and I still expect to hear from more teams as we recently extended the license deadline into July,” stated DIRTcar Northeast official points keeper Gary Spaid. “There is no formal registration required for first-year drivers, yet declaring one’s intensions allows us to process rookie points after being properly notified by interested racers.”

For drivers wanting to join the list, the time is now to contact DIRTcar NE Headquarters and confirm their intention of contending for the annual Rookie of the Year award. A solid core of drivers has already qualified for DIRTcar rookie status in the Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified and entry-level open-wheel Sportsman Modified divisions plus the full-fender UMP Pro Stock class.

Top ’08 rookie accolades were received by Larry Wight (Big-Block & 358-Modified), Dave Marcuccilli (Sportsman) and Pro Stocker Bruno Cyr at the season-ending DIRTcar ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet, this year scheduled for Saturday, November 14 at the plush Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona, New York.

A rookie in the Big-Block Modified division is any driver who has not competed in at least six (6) Big-Block features in a year. This includes running a 358 Modified car with the Big-Block division except at tracks classified as “merged” divisional speedways. A 358 Modified rookie is classified as any driver who has not competed in either six (6) Big-Block or 358 Modified events. The same rules apply to the Sportsman and Pro Stock divisions.

2009 Rookie of the Year award candidates must also hold a valid DIRTcar License to be eligible for Rookie of the Year points and awards. Rookie Points are determined by adding Home Track Bonus Points to actual points earned at all respective Super DIRTcar Series or Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series races. Rookie drivers can also receive points just by attempting to qualify for a championship event.

Potential rookie candidates should notify Gary Spaid at 1571 Lehigh Station Road, Henrietta, NY 14467 as soon as possible to verify 2009 status.

The following are confirmed Rookies and are eligible for the overall DIRTcar NE Rookie of the Year Awards with a valid 2009 DIRTcar License.

Big-Block Modified Track(s)
Tim Currier Cayuga County
Josh Hohenforst Glen Ridge
Richie Price Glen Ridge
Matt Pupello Lebanon Valley
Dustin Purdy Glen Ridge
Kory Sandstedt Lebanon Valley
Jeff Sheely Glen Ridge
JaMike Sowle Glen Ridge

358-Modified Track(s)
Mike Bowman Merrittville, Humberstone
Mark D’Ilario Merrittville
James Friesen Ransomville, Merrittville, Humberstone
Dennis Giancola Merrittville, Humberstone
Erick Rudolph Ransomville
Justin Sharp Ransomville, Merrittville, Humberstone
Don Spiece Humberstone
Mat Williamson Ransomville, Merrittville, Humberstone

Sportsman Modified Track(s)
Bill Anderson Jr. Cayuga County
Jeff Armstrong Humberstone
Bodie Bellinger Glen Ridge
Greg Birosh Canandaigua
Kane Bristol Canandaigua
Brandon Butler Black Rock
Josh Butler Black Rock
Len Dignard Merrittville, Humberstone
Jamie Gilbert Humberstone
Robert Gray Glen Ridge
Angela Hanson Glen Ridge
Tom Keyes Canandaigua
Greg Kimball Fulton
Donnie Lawson Black Rock
Bill McKelvey Black Rock
Dillon Sallows Brockville, Can-Am
Tim Schneider Jr. Cayuga County
Scott Spiece Humberstone
Luke Stewart Brockville
Alan Wills Ransomville

UMP Pro Stock Track(s)
Harvey Arquette Jr. Cornwall, Mohawk
Mike Arquitt Mohawk
William Chubb Cornwall
Cole Cree Mohawk
Michel Desjardins Cornwall
Mike Gaucher Cornwall
Tom Harkins Lebanon Valley
Marc Lalonde Cornwall, Drummond
Kurtis McPhee Cornwall
Joe Mennite Lebanon Valley
John Santolin Lebanon Valley
Tim Sayers Lebanon Valley
Allen Tarantino Lebanon Valley
Rod Tarbell Mohawk
Chris Tremblay Cornwall
John Yandoh Jr. Mohawk

DIRTcar Racing Northeast main office is located in Weedsport, New York on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds, home of the 2009 DIRTcar All-Star Weekend, July 17-19, featuring Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series events for Sportsman and Big-Block Modifieds in the richest short-track show of its kind in the nation — the $20,000-to-win Super DIRTcar Series “DIRTcar All-Star 100” on Sunday, July 19.

The Big-Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Hoosier Racing Tire and VP Racing Fuels Promotional partners include Rite Aid Corporation, Dig Safely New York and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Ferris Industries Holley HP Carburetors, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks,, Racing Electronics, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


As the summer continues through mid-June, there’s two new drivers at the top of the Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly Championship standings.  Peter Britten has...


With overnight rain in Fultonville, NY, DIRTcar Northeast and Glen Ridge Motorsports Park officials have postponed Sunday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock Series event. Officials are...


More than 30 firefighters and officials attended the event at Weedsport Speedway

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win