Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Decker Dominant DIRTcar Driver After Early Success

Billy Decker

Billy Decker - Jay Fish Photo

Weedsport, NYMay 9, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

With the opening weeks of oval track activity already in the books for the DIRTcar Racing NorthEast circuit and the first full month now underway, Billy Decker has racked up the most feature wins to date. Decker stands at the forefront as he continues to chase valuable points used to crown DIRTcar Weekly Racing Series Track and DIRTcar Regional champions in 2008.

Eleven tracks have hosted DIRTcar-sanctioned Big-Block Modified races with 12 drivers scoring victories in the 21 features run. Decker has easily been the most dominant racer, capturing season-opening trophies at Canandaigua, Brewerton, Can-Am and Rolling Wheels. The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series star claimed first-place in the tour stop at RWR and has doubled up at Brewerton.

Advance Series followers Brett Hearn, Dale Planck and Matt Sheppard have also made return trips to victory lane along with Pennsylvanian Kevin Bolland. From the list of 46 drivers cracking the winner’s circle so far in 2008, Rob Pratt (Sportsman), Louie Jackson (Pro Stock) and Rich Sharpsteen (Street Stock) are the only others to repeat victory lane performances in their respective divisions while Larry Wight copped 358-Modified and Sportsman mains.

Joining those tracks already in operation, slated to open this weekend are Ransomville Speedway (358, Spt) on Friday, Airborne Speedway (358), Fulton Speedway (BB Mod, Spt, Sts) and Genesee Speedway (Spt, Pro) on Saturday.

To find links to every DIRTcar Racing track affiliate hosting events during the season, log into and select ‘Tracks’ at the top and follow the instructions provided. Bookmark each track selection for quick review at a later time.

5-Billy Decker             1-Brett Hearn       2-Rob Pratt             2-Louie Jackson       2-Rich Sharpsteen
3-Brett Hearn             1-Dale Planck      1-Larry Wight           1-Joey Ladouceur   1-Nate Peckham
2-Dale Planck             1-Larry Wight      1-Todd Henderson 1-Jay Corbin            1-Ron Wadforth
2-Matt Sheppard         1-Kyle Jacobs     1-Eric Giguere         1-Scott Kehr             1-Adam DePuy
2-Kevin Bolland                                         1-Kevin Ridley         1-Jay Casey             1-Steve Woodworth
1-Billy Pauch                                             1-Mike Ruggiero      1-Bill Pascual          1-John Aumick
1-Jimmy Horton                                         1-Brady Fultz                                              1-Josh Verne
1-Andy Bachetti                                         1-Dave Marcuccilli                                     1-Mike Welch
1-Alan Johnson                                         1-Mike Bowman                                         1-Al D’Antonio
1-Kenny Tremont                                       1-Matt Hitchcock                                        1-Dave Mannise
1-Jm. Shingledecker                                 1-Chris Raabe                                           1-Phillip Walker
1-Brian Swartzlander                                 1-Jeff Stevenson
1-James Friesen

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts is the second-largest retailer of automotive aftermarket parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, based on store count and sales. As of October 6, 2007, the company operated 3,228 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The company serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets.

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts and Hoosier Racing Tire. Rite Aid Corporation is a promotional partner and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Dig Safely New York, Holley HP Carburetors, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Andrew Buff’s 2023 season will be significant in his racing career as he looks ahead to racing 358 Modifieds in 2024. The Latham, NY...


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...


The best drivers from around the northeast and beyond will gather in Oswego, NY for Super DIRT Week 51, Oct. 2-8. So far, nearly...


Season-long battles at tracks across the northeast have led to five new DIRTcar Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly champions. Marc Johnson (DIRTcar Big Block Modified),...