Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jocelyn Roy to lead off field in Sunday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock Series Championship 25

DIRTcar Pro Stock Series point leader in good shape for series finale

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – October 11, 2014 – Quebecois Jocelyn Roy clocked in with the fastest lap Saturday afternoon at the New York State Fairgrounds to earn him the pole position in Sunday’s DIRTcar Pro Stock Series Championship 25 during NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week XLIII. The stock car racer from the north circled the Moody Mile in 37.696 seconds to lock in the top starting position in the season’s biggest race.

“My car was very good today, it’s very fast,” said Roy, who also claimed fast time honors in 2012.

Roy’s speed on the mile Sunday will start him in the front row for Sunday’s championship race, a 25-lapper that will determine the 2014 DIRTcar Pro Stock Series Champion. With a strong starting position and a series point lead of eight points, things are looking up for the St-Helene, Quebec, driver.

“It’s good for the championship points for the series,” Roy said about his time trial running. “I just have to take it one lap at a time.”

Also locking in top starting positions with fast laps is Dean Charbonneau, an Albany-Saratoga Speedway regular out of Clifton Park, N.Y., with a lap time of 37.810 seconds. Charbonneau will share the front row with Roy when the field goes green tomorrow, a great honor for a driver who thought this spring that he might not be able to race at NAPA Super DIRT Week.

Charbonneau was overcome with emotion during post-race ceremonies. He underwent heart bypass surgery in March, and doctors told him that he might not be ready to return to the cockpit by NAPA Super DIRT Week, but an unexpectedly speedy recovery allowed him a chance to take on the “Moody Mile.”

“It’s amazing coming out here. I love being out here – it’s fast. When you’ve got a good-handling car, it makes it that much better,” Charbonneau said. To stay successful tomorrow, said he will need to “just stay in my groove and don’t get outside that groove, and try to be smart and hold it to the floor.”

The top 24 starting positions in Sunday’s 30-car field will be determined by time trial rank. Saturday’s Last-Chance Qualifier race set the remainder of the field, placing winner Rick Dempsey, of Nassau, N.Y., in the starting lineup along with Tom Harkins of Hudson, N.Y. Richard Bertrand, of Acton Vale, Quebec, Stephane Lariviere of St-Nazaire, Quebec, Terry Ladouceur of Green Valley, Ontario, and Chris Cunningham of Kirkville, N.Y.

The final day of NAPA Super DIRT Week action kicks off when gates open at 10 a.m. and DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds hit the track for practice. The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Championship 30 precedes the DIRTcar Pro Stock Series Championship 25. The Big Block Modified driver autograph session begins sharply at 11:45 p.m. before the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds hit the track for the week’s grand finale, the Syracuse 100.

For more information and the latest updates on NAPA Super DIRT Week, click, follow on Twitter @SuperDIRTWeek, or find us on Facebook at


DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship 25 Qualifying Results

Pos No. Name Best Tm
1 48R Jocelyn Roy 37.696
2 4c Dean Charbonneau 37.81
3 7d Chuck Dumblonski 37.969
4 322 Jay Casey 37.973
5 7Y Rob Yetman 38.034
6 14 Kim Duell 38.057
7 27n Nick Stone 38.119
8 7c Glen Forward 38.122
9 47 Dave Bissonnette 38.185
10 1 Francois Adam 38.239
11 14 Sid Harman Jr 38.314
12 8c Sean Corr 38.407
13 4 Roch Aubin 38.419
14 317 Frank Twing 38.436
15 73 PJ Peters 38.444
16 17 Nick Hilt 38.492
17 34 Buddy Hencke 38.513
18 93 Sheldon Martin 38.673
19 2h Luke Horning 38.729
20 6 Stephane Lebrun 38.786
21 2 Pete Stefanski 38.932
22 324 Jason Casey 38.946
23 315 Jonathan Routhier 38.988
24 715 Gus Hollner 39.054
25 7 Tom Harkins 39.063
26 79 Russ Marsden 39.179
27 8 Richard Bertrand 39.291
28 7s Ricky Achcet 39.38
29 35 Rick Dempsey 39.39
30 11 Stephane Lariviere 39.43
31 29 Chris Cunningham 39.444
32 5c Randy Casselman 39.466
33 4 Chad Arsenault 39.534
34 115 Stephane Lemire 39.671
35 33 Bruno Cyr 39.851
36 1x Mike White 40.017
37 74 Terry Ladouceur 40.412
38 29k Bill Mason 40.987
39 143 Milo Campbell 42.659


DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship 25 Last-Chance Qualifier Race

Pos No. Name Laps
1 35 Rick Dempsey 8
2 7 Tom Harkins 8
3 8 Richard Bertrand 8
4 11 Stephane Lariviere 8
5 74 Terry Ladouceur 8
6 29 Chris Cunningham 8
7 4 Chad Arsenault 8
8 7s Ricky Achcet 8
9 1x Mike White 8
10 115 Stephane Lemire 8
11 29k Bill Mason 8
12 143 Milo Campbell 8
13 79 Russ Marsden 6
14 5c Randy Casselman 0
15 33 Bruno Cyr 0


DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship 25 Lineup

Pos Car Name Hometown
1 48R Jocelyn Roy St Helene, QC
2 4c Dean Charbonneau Clifton Park, NY
3 7d Chuck Dumblonski Amsterdam, NY
4 7Y Rob Yetman Castleton, NY
5 14 Kim Duell Porter Corners, NY
6 27n Nick Stone Schenectady, NY
7 7c Glen Forward Morrisville, NY
8 47 Dave Bissonnette Long Sault, ON
9 1 Francois Adam St Pie, QC
10 14 Sid Harman Jr Gouverneur, NY
11 8c Sean Corr Gashen, NY
12 4 Roch Aubin Alexandria, ON
13 317 Frank Twing Becket, MA
14 73 PJ Peters Akwesasne, QC
15 17 Nick Hilt Averill Park, NY
16 34 Buddy Hencke Sand Lake, NY
17 93 Sheldon Martin Concord, NC
18 2h Luke Horning Gloversville, NY
19 6 Stephane Lebrun Gatineau, QC
20 2 Pete Stefanski North Tonawanda, NY
21 324 Jason Casey Ashley Falls, MA
22 315 Jonathan Routhier Canaan, CT
23 715 Gus Hollner Gloversville, NY
24 35 Rick Dempsey Nassau, NY
25 07 Tom Harkins Hudson, NY
26 08 Richard Bertrand Acton Vale, QC
27 11 Stephane Lariviere St Nazaire, QC
28 74 Terry Ladouceur Green Valley, ON
29 29 Chris Cunningham Kirkville, NY
30 04 Chad Arsenault Elizaville, NY
31 115 Stephane Lemire Drummondville, QC
32 33 Bruno Cyr Saint-Liboire, QC


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.


No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

Pro Stocks

Jason Casey finishes second, matching best DIRTcar Pro Stock Series finish


After another weekend of DIRTcar Northeast action, four new drivers have taken the lead in the chase to become the top weekend warrior. Lance...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The chase for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series championship begins this weekend with one of the four Sportsman regions taking the green flag. The North...