Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

New Era For Mohawk Intl Raceway Begins With Frogtown Finale

Mohawk International RacewayHogansburg, NYMarch 22, 2008 — By Jamie Davis, Mohawk Int’l Raceway PR

The last deed for Frogtown International Speedway officials took place on Saturday night March 15, when five track champions and other racers were honored for the final time under the Frogtown banner at the 20th annual awards banquet held at the Brass Horse Grill in Akwesasne (Hogansburg), NY.

From this point on the popular Akwesasne based race track will be under the new direction and banner of Mohawk International Raceway. Racers, fans, officials and sponsors not only from Frogtown Int’l Speedway but officials and members from Cornwall Motor Speedway joined in on the evening’s farewell to one era and welcome to a brand new one.

What is known as a “Traditional Meal” was served that made everyone feel as if it was Thanksgiving all over again. Following dinner, Denis Moquin, representing the Lucas Oil DIRTcar 358 Modified tour, and Brian Mulligan, representing the UMP/DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship Series, spoke about the two popular upcoming tours and gave a brief overview of what to expect in another very exciting season for both that will feature plenty of prize money and some great racing. Sylvain Mercier was on hand as well, meeting with many to talk about the upcoming visit to Mohawk International Raceway this coming season.

The awards ceremonies followed with the top-10 in the RPS Performance DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Action Race Parts UMP/DIRT Pro Stocks, Pecore Performance and Transmissions Semi Pros, Helm’s Salvage and Trucking Bandits and the top-5 in the Enduro class were honored. Track Champions Kevin Thompson (Enduro), Claudia Tarbell (Bandit), Mike Allen (Semi Pro), Clayton Benedict (UMP/DIRT Pro Stock) and Dave Heaslip (DIRTcar 358 Modified) were all crowned track champions. The long-time veteran Heaslip was greeted with a standing ovation when he received his trophy and prize money from the great crowed that was on hand and the Northeast Modified Hall of Famer seemed to enjoy every minute of it.

Special awards for Rookie of the Year in each class were handed out as well. DIRTcar 358-Modifieds – Casey Swamp, UMP/DIRT Pro Stocks – Billy Woodward, Jr., Semi Pros – Jason Bressett, Bandits – Mike Benedict and Enduros – TJ Herne. After the awards ceremony a D.J. provided music and dancing for all into the late hours.

Mohawk International Raceway will open its doors to start off a new racing era on Saturday night May 3 with the 1st running of the Mohawk 30 for the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds paying a cool $1500 to win plus a full card of racing in all other classes at the fast half-mile oval. MIR is located on Frogtown Road just off Route 37 in Akwesasne (Hogansburg), NY. For more information visit us on the worldwide web at Mohawk International Raceway, the best kept secret in dirt track racing!

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


With Memorial Day weekend action complete, there are no changes at the top of the points standings for the five DIRTcar Northeast divisions. Several...


With the first weekend in May complete, many DIRTcar Sanctioned tracks have opened their gates for the 2024 season. Marc Johnson (Big Block Modified),...

358 Modifieds

For the first time in 2024, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series will roar to life this weekend at Fulton Speedway. The Highbank Holdup 60...


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...