Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Rob Yetman claims second DIRTcar Pro Stock Series Championship 25 on the Syracuse Mile

Yetman joins three other Pro Stock drivers who have picked up two wins in a row

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – October 12, 2014 – With his victory Sunday during NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week, Rob Yetman add his name to a short list of drivers to have won two consecutive DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship races on the Syracuse mile. Only three other racers have achieved the feat in the 18 years the race has run: Rocky Warner (2010/2011), Dave Schulz (2004/2005) and Jipp Ortiz (2000/2001).

“It sure is special,” said Yetman, a regular runner and 2014 track champion at Albany-Saratoga Speedway in Malta. “There’s probably only a handful of guys who have won it twice. To do it here, and have everything go your way – it’s tough to do because this place can bite you hard.”

The Castleton, N.Y. driver battled for his win Sunday, Oct. 12, at the New York State Fairgrounds, starting fourth on the grid and gaining two positions within the first couple laps. He challenged the early race leader and series point leader Jocelyn Roy in laps six and seven, but it was Nick Stone, out of Schenectady, N.Y., who would stand between Yetman and victory.

Stone passed Yetman in lap eight and drag raced Roy along the back stretch in lap 9 to take the lead.

“We were trying to find the right way to get around him (Roy) and we allowed Stone to get around us,” the defending NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week Pro Stock Champion said. “Once I cleared the 48, I drew in the 27 there. I know he likes to run high, and I went around him on the outside so it worked out.”

Yetman got by Roy in lap 11, took over for Stone in lap 13 and by lap 17 established a significant lead over the rest of the field. Stone found some late-race momentum and pulled up to Yetman’s rear bumper in lap 23. The pair raced nose-to-tail for a lap, but Stone faltered and finished third after Glen Forward

“We were strong at the beginning of the race, but towards the end we started fading off a little bit. I’m not sure what happened. Yetman was just fast,” said Stone, also an Albany-Saratoga regular. “To get to the front and fall back to third… But, overall we were happy. I mean, you had two of the strongest guys get by me, so we must have been pretty good.”

Roy finished seventh in Sunday’s race, earning him enough DIRTcar Pro Stock Series points to stay in the lead and claim the series championship.

For more information and the latest updates on NAPA Super DIRT Week, click, follow on Twitter @SuperDIRTWeek, or find us on Facebook at


DIRTcar Pro Stock Championship 25 Results

Pos No. Name   Laps
1 7Y Rob Yetman Castleton, N.Y. 25
2 7c Glen Forward Morrisville, N.Y. 25
3 27n Nick Stone Schenectady, N.Y. 25
4 7d Chuck Dumblonski Amsterdam, N.Y. 25
5 1 Francois Adam St-Pie, Quebec 25
6 8c Sean Corr Gashen, N.Y. 25
7 48R Jocelyn Roy St-Helene, Quebec 25
8 47 Dave Bissonnette Long Sault, Ontario 25
9 4c Dean Charbonneau Clifton Park, N.Y. 25
10 34 Buddy Hencke Sand Lake, N.Y. 25
11 93 Sheldon Martin Concord, N.C. 25
12 4 Roch Aubin Alexandria, Ontario 25
13 324 Jason Casey Ashley Falls, Mass. 25
14 2h Luke Horning Gloversville, N.Y. 25
15 6 Stephane Lebrun Gatineau, Quebec 25
16 17 Nick Hilt Averill Park, N.Y. 25
17 35 Rick Dempsey Nassau, N.Y. 25
18 4 Chad Arsenault Elizaville, N.Y. 25
19 73 PJ Peters Akwesasne, Quebec 25
20 115 Stephane Lemire Drummondville, Quebec 25
21 315 Jonathan Routhier Canaan, Conn. 25
22 715 Gus Hollner Gloversville, N.Y. 25
23 74 Terry Ladouceur Green Valley, Ontario 25
24 7 Tom Harkins Hudson, N.Y. 24
25 29 Chris Cunningham Kirkville, N.Y. 24
26 317 Frank Twing Becket, Mass. 18
27 14 Sid Harman Jr Gouverneur, N.Y. 11
28 8 Richard Bertrand Acton Vale, Quebec 10
29 2 Pete Stefanski North Tonawanda, N.Y. 6
30 11 Stephane Lariviere St-Nazaire, Quebec 6
31 14 Kim Duell Porters Corners, N.Y. 6
32 33 Bruno Cyr Saint-Liboire, Quebec 5


Pole Position Raceway Pole Award ($250): Jocelyn Roy

BACC-OFF Outside Pole Award ($100): Dean Charbonneau

Dig Safely NY Non-Qualifiers Race Award ($250): Rick Dempsey

Hard Charger Bonus ($150 Gift Certificate): Chad Arsenault

Rookie of the Race ($295 Gift Certificate): Chad Arsenault

NYSSCA Best Appearing Car & Crew (Prize Package): Rob Yetman


The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

Pro Stocks

Jason Casey finishes second, matching best DIRTcar Pro Stock Series finish


After another weekend of DIRTcar Northeast action, four new drivers have taken the lead in the chase to become the top weekend warrior. Lance...


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...