Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar NE Sportsman Modifieds

Cody McPherson Wins DIRTcar Sportsman Series Central Region Opener at Weedsport, Ties Brad Rouse For Most Series Victories

It’s the St. Catharines, ON driver’s first Central Region win and 19th overall

Cody McPherson
Joe Grabianowski

While a stout field of DIRTcar Sportsman Series Central Region drivers battled for a win Tuesday at Weedsport Speedway, the current West Region points leader beat them all.

Cody McPherson drove from ninth to first in 21 laps, passing Cedric Gauvreau to score his 19th DIRTcar Sportsman Series win, tying Brad Rouse at the top of the Series all-time wins list.

“I thought we were in trouble when we redrew nine out of nine,” McPherson said. “But right from the get-go, I drove it into (Turn) 1, and it stuck. That’s the key point here is in the center of 1 and 2. If you can stay down there and still get the drive off, you’re good.”

Gauvreau stormed to the lead in the 30-lap Feature before the first of three cautions came out on Lap 3 for Austin Germinio, Savannah LaFlair, and Tyler Guzzardi, who spun in Turn 2.

On the restart, the Chelsea, QC driver continued his quick pace while McPherson picked off cars one by one behind him. McPherson was up to third when the race’s second caution came out for Trevor Catalano on Lap 17, followed by a red flag for Savannah Laflair.

When the race resumed, McPherson snuck under Hunter Hollenbeck to wrestle away second and set his sights on Gauvreau.

The two-time DIRTcar Sportsman Series champion needed three more laps as he thundered underneath Gauvreau in Turn 2 to take the lead on Lap 21. 

From there, McPherson drove to the $1,000 Central Region victory and his third Series win of 2024 after winning the first two West Region events.

“It started slickening up again in (Turns) 3 and 4,” McPherson said. “I saw Gauvreau miss it a little bit. I knew I had an opportunity, and luckily, I was able to get under him and hit our marks.”

“As good a year as it’s been, every race is a new race for me. You’re always just as good as your last race. You can win tonight and be eighth tomorrow. It’s a tough sport and a tough class.”

Gauvreau settled for second—his second DIRTcar Sportsman Series podium of 2024 after finishing third at Can-Am Speedway in April. 

The Quebec driver said he knew what kept him out of Victory Lane.

“I would’ve been happy with no yellows mid-race,” Gauvreau said. “It was our first time here, and I was really happy with the second place we had. I think I just had a little mistake, and that was why Cody was able to pass me, but it was really a good run between me and him.”

Zach Sobotka finished third after starting 13th. The Parish, NY driver said the track conditions threw him a curveball compared to what he’s used to at Weedsport.

“It had some bite,” Sobotka said. “I found the top groove a little late and didn’t plan on staying up there once I got into third. But then I was like, it kind of feels fast compared to the bottom groove, so I just stuck it out for the last three laps and just prayed for a caution.

Gavin Eisele finished fourth, earning his third DIRTcar Sportsman Series top five of 2024, and Hollenbeck rounded out the top five.

UP NEXT: The DIRTcar Sportsman Series Central Region returns to action on Saturday, June 22, at Land of Legends Raceway in Canandaigua, NY. The race is a combined event with the West Region.

If you can’t make it to the track, you can watch all of the Super DIRTcar Series action on DIRTVision, either online or with the DIRTVision app.

DIRTcar Sportsman Series Central Region Feature (30 LAPS): 1. 7-Cody McPherson, 2. 22c-Cedric Gauvreau, 3. 38-Zach Sobotka, 4. 18-Gavin Eisele, 5. 72h-Hunter Hollenbeck, 6. 15-Adam Leslie, 7. 0F-Tony Finch Jr., 8. 33-Richard Murtaugh, 9. 64-Tyler Corcoran, 10. 6-Cody Manitta, 11. 4-Emmett Waldron, 12. 30- Nick Root, 13. 5- Kyle Devendorf, 14. 21j- Justin Leichti, 15. 12g-Matt Guererri, 16. 33jr-Clayton Brewer III, 17. 32c-Kasey Coffey, 18. 01-Zach Buff, 19. 42-Daryl Nutting, 20. F28-Tyler Stevenson, 21. 11-Nick Zielenski, 22. 21x-Ryan Barrett, 23. 10g-Austin Germinio, 24. 91-Josh Reome, 25. 48-Kearra Backus, 26. 16x-Savannah Laflair, 27. 56-Trevor Catalano, 28. 7t-Tyler Guzzardi, 29. 410-Mike Fowler

Hoosier Racing Tire Award: Nick Root (Free Tire)

Post-Race Tech: Fuel and Rocker Arm Ratio were checked on the top five finishers. All drivers passed.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

Gavin Eisele leads the North Region standings, while Cody McPherson leads the Central

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The St. Catharines, ON has more DIRTcar Sportsman Series wins than any other driver

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

Cody McPherson leads the West Region point standings with two victories

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

Cody McPherson leads both regional point standings entering this weekend’s event