Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Gary Lindberg wins DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series at Humberstone Speedway

Joey Ladouceur is series point leader going into Round 10 at Mohawk International Raceway


PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO – Monday, September 9, 2013 – Gary Lindberg, of Ridgeway, Ontario, charged to victory in Sunday’s Trevor Wilkens Memorial DIRTcar Sportsman Series Feature at the New Humberstone Speedway.

“Its cool to finally get the win in a trail race here” said Lindberg, whose win bumped him to 12th in DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series points. “We plan on going to Brighton and maybe Syracuse later this fall.”

Mathieu Desjardins and defending series champion Cody McPherson started on the front rows at the green flag, McPherson charging ahead to take the initial lead. Behind them, Lindberg was on the move early, entering the top ten by the second lap.

In lap 5, Greg Panunte got around Desjardins for the second spot and last year’s DIRTcar Pro Stock Series champion Joey Ladouceur broke into the top 5. A multi-car pileup in lap 6 brought the race’s first caution, but Lindberg got away unharmed and went three-wide off the restart to make his way into the top five and soon after passed Austin Wood for fourth.

With some serious momentum beneath his wheels, Lindberg took the low groove to pass Desjardins for third in lap 10 and set his sights to the leaders. Off a lap-11 restart, Greg Panunte, then in second, overtook leader McPherson to take command of the field with an outside pass in turns three and four. Lindberg continued to work his way ahead, going low again to pass McPherson in lap 14.

The leaders hit traffic in lap 20, and propelled himself through lapped traffic to take the lead over Penunte, leaving him to battle with McPherson, then in third.

James Michael Friesen brought another yellow in lap 39, bringing the field back together with just 11 laps to go. Lindberg kept the lead of the restart and McPherson gained enough speed to pass Panunte for second place. Adam Leslie and Austin Wood moved into the top-five after having passed Desjardins.

Martin Pelletier spun in turn 3 in lap 43 to bring another late-race caution, and Lindberg fended off McPherson at the restart to keep the lead and ride his way to victory. McPherson took second, and, rounding out the top-five were Panunte in third, Wook in fourth and Leslie in fifth.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series continues this coming weekend with round 10 Saturday, Sept. 14, at Mohawk International Raceway. Joining the Sportsman Modifieds at the Akwesasne track will be the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series, also running Saturday, and the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series and DIRTcar Pro Stock Series, both running Friday, Sept. 13.


DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series, Round 9

Sunday, September 8 – New Humberstone Speedway

Statistical Report

A-Main: GARY LINDBERG, Cody McPherson, Greg Panunte, Austin Wood, Adam Leslie, Mathieu Desjardins, Brad Rouse, Jessica Power, Jason Moore, Jeff Armstrong, BJ Willard, Darrell Farraway, Joey Ladouceur, Jordan Cosco, Martin Pelletier, Louis Jackson, Rocky Thompson, Justin Sharp, Boyd MacTavish, Matt Sharpe, Gord McIntosh, Jenna David, Robert Delormier, Pat Sonnenberg, Adam Hilton, Rob Knapp,  James Michael Friesen, Derrick Hodge, Joey Mastrioanni and Chris Bellamy Did Not Qualify: Gordie Hermanson, Nick Cupolo, Chad Brown and Travis Miller

Qualifying Winners: Adam Leslie, Gary Lindberg, Mathieu Desjardins, Adam Hilton

Consolation Winners: Louis Jackson, Justin Sharp

Time Trials: Gary Lindberg 16.268 seconds (Fast Time)


2013 DIRTcar Sportsman Series Schedule

Wed. June 5 Rolling Wheels Raceway Elbridge, N. Y. Winner: Adam Hilton

Mon. July 1 Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall, Ont. Winner: Brad Rouse

Wed. July 3 Ransomville Speedway, Ransomville. N. Y. Winner: Joey Ladouceur

Mon. July 22 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville, Que. Winner: Steve Bernier

Tues. July 23 Autodrome Granby Granby, Que. Winner: Steve Bernier

Fri. Sept. 6 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, N. Y. Winner: Jesse Cotriss

Sat. Sept. 7 Merrittville Speedway Thorold, Ont. Canceled due to inclement weather

Sun. Sept. 8 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ont. Gary Lindberg

Sat. Sept. 14 Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, N. Y.

Fri. Sept. 20 Brighton Speedway Brighton, Ont.

Sat. Sept. 21 Le RPM Speedway St. Marcel de Richelieu, Que.

Wed. Oct. 9 Cayuga County Fair Speedway Weedsport, N. Y.

Sat. Oct. 12 New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse, N. Y.

Sun. Oct. 20 Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville, Ont.

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

358 Modifieds

With persistent rain in the LaFargeville, NY area, and more expected through Friday, according to Precision Weather Service, DIRTcar Northeast and Can-Am Speedway officials...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Zach Sobotka was the DIRTcar Sportsman driver to beat Saturday night at Brockville-Ontario Speedway’s Fall Nationals. The 50-lap, $2,100-to-win, Feature saw Shane Stearns and...