Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tim Sears Jr. Opens DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Season with Dominating Win

Defending series champion takes checkered flag at Canandaigua Motorsports Park

CANANDAIGUA, N.Y. – April 30, 2011 – Tim Sears Jr. picked up right where he left off in the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series by winning the opener on Saturday night at Canandaigua Motorsports Park.

Coming off a season where he posted six wins and won the championship, Sears started 10th and worked his way to the front, finally taking the lead on Lap 12 of the 35-lap feature when Steve Gray went to the pits with a mechanical problem. Sears led the rest of the way to win the 2011 opener for the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series.

Greg Cool, who started on the outside of the front row and led the first two laps, finished second with Justin Wright, Eric Giguere and Kevin Ridley rounding out the Top Five. Pole-sitter Karl Comfort was sixth.

There were 31 DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds taking part in the action.

The next DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series event is June 5 at Cornwall Motor Speedway, which will also be host to the opener for the DIRTcar Pro Stock Series opener on the same day. The DIRTcar 358-Modified Series opens May 23 at Merrttville Speedway with the Big-Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series kicking off on May 29 during the All-Star Weekend at Rolling Wheels Raceway Park.

For more information on DIRTcar Racing, the DIRTcar Northeast Series or the Safety-Kleen Mr. DIRTcar Weekly Racing program, visit

DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Statistical Report; Canandiauga Motorsports Park; Canandaigua Speedway; April 30, 2011

A-main (30 laps) – 1. 83x-Tim Sears Jr.; 22-Greg Cool; 3. 11j-Justin Wright; 4. 67g-Eric Giguere; 5. 20x-Kevin Ridley; 6. 10-Karl Comfort; 7. 7-Paul Guererri; 8. 66-Dan Wiesner; 9. 3a-Adam Hilton; 10. 11-Ben Wheeler; 11. 16-Earl Rudy; 12. 7b-Tom Benedict; 13. 31-Kane Bristol; 14. 18h-Todd Henderson; 15. 8-Joe Cook Jr.;
16. 25g-Nick Guererri; 17. 9s-Kristian Smoke; 18. 4m-Greg Martin; 19. 29g-Steve Gray; 20. m1-Dave Marcuccilli; 21. 38-Rich Swarthout; 22. 76-Rob Bussey; 23. 67-James Henry; 24. 4-Daryl Hilkert; 25. 2-Jenna David; 26. 50-Tim Downs; 27. 21m-Randy McCulloch; 28. 30-Gary Hotelling; 29. 5-Tom Keyes.

Heat Race #1 (8 laps; 5 qualify; top-3 redraw): Gray; Bussey; Swarthout; T. Henderson; David; Wheeler; Martin; Downs.

Heat Race #2 (8 laps; 5 qualify; top-3 redraw): McCulloch; Wright; Cool; Marcuccilli; Smoke; Rudy; J.Henderson; N. Guererri (DNS).

Heat Race #3 (8 laps; 5 qualify; top-3 redraw): Sears; Ridley; Henry; Wiesner; Bristol; Hilton; Cook; Hotelling.

Heat Race #4 (8 laps; 5 qualify; top-3 redraw): P. Guererri; Giguere; Comfort; Hilkert; Benedict; Keyes; Cotriss.

Consi #1 (6 laps): Rudy; Wheeler; Hilton; Martin; N. Guererri; Cook; Downs; Hotelling; Keyes; J. Henderson (DNS); Cotriss (DNS).

DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners; including Hoosier Racing Tire; VP Racing Fuels; GM Performance Parts and Safety-Kleen. Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio and Chizmark & Larson Insurance. Contingency sponsors are ASI; Bert Transmissions; Bicknell Racing Products; Bilstein Shocks; Brodix; ButlerBuilt; Comp Cams; Intercomp; JE Pistons; KSE Racing Products; Motorsports Safety Systems; MSD Ignition; Penske Shocks; Racing Electronics; R2C; Super Flow; Vicci Racing Apparel; WIX Filters; Wrisco Industries; Xtreme Lubricants and Extreme Mufflers.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Andrew Buff’s 2023 season will be significant in his racing career as he looks ahead to racing 358 Modifieds in 2024. The Latham, NY...


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...