Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Canandaigua Speedway Hosts 2008 Mr. DIRTcar Street Stock Series Opener Friday

Weedsport, NYSeptember 17, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

With DIRTcar Racing NorthEast’s regular season securely in the record book, its time for full-fender teams to hunker down for their final run towards the coveted overall title.

For the second straight year an overall Hoosier Tire Mr. DIRTcar Champion will be recognized in the UMP Street Stock division, and after a full summer of bumper-banging, paint-swapping action around the area circuit, just five races remain to determine the cream of the crop in 2008.

Trimmed down from a demanding 12-race schedule offered a year ago, the upcoming agenda is headlined by a handful of big season-ending showdowns that will bring together the best stockers for five head-to-head confrontations. While only points collected in the extra-distance tour races held last year went towards crowning the overall class champion, this time around drivers also collected bonus points at their respective hometracks to mirror DIRTcar NorthEast’s other four major touring groups.

“Streamlining the schedule this year has put more emphasis on our big year-end events and made it more feasible for teams to participate in all the shows,” said Cory Reed, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning. “We’ve maintained a solid core of tracks that continued to host this exciting division on a regular basis and now its time for local racers to take their place on our biggest stage.”

Canandaigua Speedway leads off the Mr. DIRTcar post-race parade as part of the Labatt Blue RaceFest Weekend, September 19-20, on the Ontario County Fairgrounds. The top Street Stockers will be vying for a spot in the $500-to-win, 25-lap main event on Friday, Sept. 19 that is complemented by the Labatt Blue Light 75-lap Championship for 358-Modifieds.

The month closes out the following weekend with Rolling Wheels Raceway Park attracting all the Street Stock stars on Friday, September 26 for competition in the 22nd World Series of DIRT Track Racing Weekend. October opens at Fulton Speedway on the 3rd with Cayuga County Fair Speedway (Oct. 10) and Black Rock Speedway (Oct. 25) bringing down the curtain in autumn.

Track bonus points were given to those drivers among the top-25 in their final individual speedway standings while the standard Super DIRTcar Series points format (100 points to win, 40 to start, 10 for show) will be used for all Mr. DIRTcar Championship events. The overall champion will collect a $1,000 top-prize, while $500 is the minimum winner’s share in each of the individual DIRTcar Series events held.

For additional material, competitors are encouraged to visit for the most updated news and information regarding rules, points structure, payoffs and member benefits as well as race results and point standings. The DIRTcar Racing NorthEast Office (315/834-6606) can be contacted during normal business hours.

Mr. DIRTcar Street Stock Series Point Standings (Through Sept. 16, 2008)
Rank No. Driver Points Bonus Diff Track
1 8 Dave Mannise 300 300 0 Fulton/Thunder Alley
2 19 Emerson Cargain Sr.300 300 0 Orange County
3 38 John Aumick 300 300 0 Orange County
4 00 Mike Welch 300 300 0 Canandaigua
5 14NY Phillip Walker 300 300 0 Can-Am
6 33 Andy Fisk 292 292 -8 Canandaigua
7 37 Chris Fisher 292 292 -8 Black Rock
8 99 Adam DePuy 288 288 -12 Canandaigua
9 27 Dave Pope 288 288 -12 Thunder Alley
10 63 Jay Pepin 288 288 -12 Orange County
11 14 Ron Hawker 288 288 -12 Fulton
12 7 Tim McCarthy 288 288 -12 Orange County
13 115 Nick Rizzo 284 284 -16 Cayuga County
14 90 Nathan Peckham 282 282 -18 Cayuga County
15 93 Jared Hill 266 266 -34 Black Rock
16 44 John Dore 264 264 -36 Orange County
17 07 Leroy Lewis 264 264 -36 Canandaigua
18 10 Todd Raabe 264 264 -36 Can-Am
19 18 Wayne Ellison 260 260 -40 Cayuga County
20 2 Steve Woodworth 256 256 -44 Cayuga County
21 00r Mike Rasbeck 248 248 -52 Canandaigua
22 50 Nicole Barzee 248 248 -52 Black Rock
23 16 Stan Vishinski Sr. 228 228 -72 Orange County
24 23 Eddie Wright 226 226 -74 Orange County
25 33 Jay Pepin Jr. 224 224 -76 Orange County
26 11 Mike Vaughn 224 224 -76 Cayuga County
27 75 Scott Smith 224 224 -76 Canandaigua
28 4 Mike Durham 216 216 -84 Thunder Alley
29 45R Scott Kocher 212 212 -88 Thunder Alley
30 41 Daryl Krebs 206 206 -94 Cayuga County
31 6x Deb Whalen 206 206 -94 Fulton
32 ws7 Ray Smith 206 206 -94 Fulton
33 78 Buck Barrett 202 202 -98 Orange County
34 113 Frank Guererri Jr. 180 180 -120 Black Rock

2008 Mr. DIRTcar Street Stock Championship Series Schedule
*All events subject to change.
Fri-Sep 19 Canandaigua Speedway Canandaigua, NY
Fri-Sep 26 Rolling Wheels Raceway Park Elbridge,NY
Fri-Oct 3 Fulton Speedway Fulton,NY
Fri-Oct 10 Cayuga County Fair Speedway Weedsport, NY
Sat-Oct 25 Black Rock Speedway Dundee, NY

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Andrew Buff’s 2023 season will be significant in his racing career as he looks ahead to racing 358 Modifieds in 2024. The Latham, NY...


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...


The best drivers from around the northeast and beyond will gather in Oswego, NY for Super DIRT Week 51, Oct. 2-8. So far, nearly...


Season-long battles at tracks across the northeast have led to five new DIRTcar Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly champions. Marc Johnson (DIRTcar Big Block Modified),...