Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Bluegrass Speedway Tribute to Bob Jones $400 to Win UMP Sportsman/$300 to Win UMP Street Stocks at Season Finale Sept. 25

Bluegrass Motor Speedwayby Michael Despain

BARDSTOWN, Ky. — Bluegrass Speedway track promoters David and Anita Ferrell will present the final night racing of 2010 at the ½ mile, high-banked Nelson County clay oval on Saturday September 18 with a $400 to win Tribute to Bob Jones special for the WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman division, plus the $300 to win UMP Street Stock special that was cancelled on September 18 due to a widespread power failure in the area where the track is located, along with weekly racing series action for the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models and UMP Modifieds.

Bluegrass Speedway sincerely apologizes for having to cancel the September 18 race program due to the power outage in the area and apologizes for any inconvenience caused to any patrons. General admission tickets and pit passes from the cancelled event on September 18 will be honored this Saturday September 25, along with any rainchecks from anyone who was at the August 14 rainout and have not redeemed them yet. Patrons must have their old ticket or pit pass to present for them to be honored.

The September 25 date will see the WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman in action in the Tribute to Bob Jones, in honor of the late Mr. Jones who passed away on September 10, whose sons Rob and Ray compete at Bluegrass Speedway, in a $400 to win event. The UMP Street Stock $300 to win special that was scheduled for September 18 will also take place on September 25. Also on the September 25 racing program will be a full program of weekly racing series action for the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models ($1,000 to win) and UMP Modifieds ($500 to win). For the September 25 event, the Super Late Model, UMP Sportsman, and UMP Street Stock divisions will time trial, while UMP Modifieds will pill draw for heat race starting assignments.

Activities for the September 25 racing program will see the pit area open at 4:00 p.m. and the general admission area open at 5:00 p.m. A mandatory drivers meeting will take place at 6:00 p.m. Practice will begin at 6:30 p.m., with time trials at 7:00 p.m., followed green flag race action at or before 8:00 p.m. All times are EDT. Ticket prices on September 25 will be $10 for adults, $5 for children ages 6 to 12, and children under age 6 free in the general admission area. A pit pass will cost $25.

Bluegrass Speedway is located at 2221 New Haven Road at the intersection of Kentucky Highway 31-E and exit 21 of the Martha Layne Collins (Bluegrass) Parkway. David and Anita Ferrell are the track promoters and present dirt track sports entertainment on Saturday evenings from mid-April through September. For more information about all racing activities for the 2010 racing season, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or phone (502) 349-1241 on raceday.


Bluegrass Speedway 2010 Top Ten Track Points after September 18, 2010

44 Auto Mart Super Late Models
1. Tim Tungate (Campbellsville, KY)- 180
2. Jeff Watson (Campbellsville, KY)- 155
3. Lee Devasier (Crestwood, KY)- 141
4. Dustin Neat (Dunnville, KY)- 129
5. Aaron Hatton (Mount Sterling, KY)- 123
6. Justin Rattliff (Campbellsville, KY)- 114
7. Johnny Wheeler (Campbellsville, KY)- 95
8. Jarryd Holshouser (Boaz, KY)- 88
9. Tim Rivers (Salem, IN)- 83
10. Mike Jewell (Scottsburg, IN)- 82

UMP Open Wheel Modifieds
1. Jason Wheatley (Loretto, KY)- 201*
2. Benji Lee (Loretto, KY)- 170
3. Michael England (Glasgow, KY)- 109
4. Brad Schlosser (Leitchfield, KY)- 101
5. Adam Cole (Campbellsville, KY)- 100
6. Josh Lucas (Bardstown, KY)- 95
7. Gary Parks (Elizabethtown, KY)- 95
8. Randy Turpin (Lebanon, KY)- 94
9. Dion Benningfield (Lebanon, KY)- 78
10. Jeff Stith (Louisville, KY)- 67

WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman
1. Avral Thompson (Loretto, KY)- 186
2. Barry Chesser (Bloomfield, KY)- 178
3. Billy Meredith (Hodgenville, KY)- 161
4. Tim Cummings (Shepherdsville, KY)- 143
5. Derek Bottoms (Taylorsville, KY)- 129
6. Robbie Settles (New Hope, KY)- 121
7. Sam Mull (Jeffersonville, IN)- 98
8. Pat Hagan (New Haven, KY)- 94
9. Wayne Hager (Nicholasville, KY)- 36
10. Roger Cecil (Bardstown, KY)- 35

UMP Street Stocks
1. Shane Lafollette (Hodgenville, KY)- 195
2. Timmy Glazer (Bardstown, KY)- 190
3. Joe Walker (Bardstown, KY)- 140
4. Bobby Settles (New Hope, KY)- 88
5. Terry Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 59
6. Scott Beeler (Louisville, KY)- 57
7. Roy Skaggs (Campbellsville, KY)- 53
8. Fred Mercer (Louisville, KY)- 53
9. Jason Bartley (Bardstown, KY)- 50
10. Brad Leake (Bardstown, KY)- 27

*Denotes Driver has clinched division track championship.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Pierce recovers from Thursday DNF to finish second in Dream finale while Sheppard runs seventh ROSSBURG, OH (June 8, 2024) – For the tenth...

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar champions Sheppard and Hoffman make statements in 50-lap Feature While Devin Moran finally exorcised he and his family’s racing demons at Eldora Speedway...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The chase for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series championship begins this weekend with one of the four Sportsman regions taking the green flag. The North...